Research In Action 2022

Photo Research in Action Paula Kurdziel, Ph.D.

Is Your Immune System Boss of Your Brain?

Paula Kurdziel, Ph.D.
postdoctoral fellow,
Stiles-Nicholson FAU Brain Institute

Q: Fascinating. So, I have mild dysautonomia and suspect this has a lot to do with it. Do you know anything about that?   
A: Without knowing more than a diagnosis of dysautonomia, it's hard to say. I am not a medical professional, so I would always defer to your doctor for specifics. I do know what dysautonomia is a complex disorder that has a wide range of symptoms. I am unaware of any direct linking of dysfunctions in the immune system to dysautonomia, although the autonomic and immune system have been implicated in other disease development and progression like cardiovascular disease.

Q: You mentioned that the Blakely Lab uniquely developed a mouse model to test a serotonin enzyme’s frequency. Were the tail-suspension and open-field tests also developed to specifically view stress/serotinin-related behavior in mice?