OURI Undergraduate Researcher of the Year Awards

2021-22 UROYs

The Office of Undergraduate Research and Inquiry (OURI) invites nominations for the Annual Undergraduate Researcher of the Year (UROY) awards. Each year one student from every college is selected for this award. Students are recognized at the annual Honors Convocation and receive a $500 stipend and an "Undergraduate Research Scholar" stole to wear during their graduation ceremony.

Nomination Deadline: Second Friday in February

2023 deadline extended to February 22nd

2021-2022 Undergraduate Researchers of the Year


  • Must have at least two semesters of documented faculty-mentored undergraduate research experience at FAU within the past calendar year
  • Must be an actively enrolled student at FAU during the semester the awards are given (Spring) (Note: all research in the previous calendar year [January-December] must have been conducted as an undergraduate)
  • Must be in good academic standing at FAU
  • Must agree to present an oral presentation at the annual spring Undergraduate Research Symposium


Second Friday in February - Nominations and Applications due
Mid-February - Names and applications of three nominees will be sent to college deans for selection
Early March - Names of final college awardees due to OURI from deans
April TBD - Announcement of Undergraduate Researchers of the Year at Honors Convocation

Application Process:

To apply or nominate a candidate, please complete the online application through Survey Monkey Apply  (click  here for instructions) by February 10th. NOTE: Remember to use your FAU Net ID and password to log in to Survey Monkey Apply. For questions on Survey Monkey Apply, email ouri@fau.edu .

Complete details and guidelines for the UROY awards can be found here.

The evaluation is based on the quality and quantity of research conducted by the FAU student.

Previous Undergraduate Researchers of the Year

2021 Awardees

2020 Awardees

2019 Awardees

2018 Awardees

2017 Awardees

2016 Awardees

2015 Awardees

2014 Awardees