3mt Image



Florida Atlantic University's Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition

An 80,000 word thesis would take 9 hours to present....their time limit is 3 minutes. 

FAU Graduate College will host the University's 6th Annual Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT®) March 15th through March 31st, 2022! The 3MT® competition challenges gradaute students around the world to pitch their research in only 3 minutes to a live audience. Developed by the University of Queensland (UQ) in 2008, 3MT® competitions are now held in over 900 universities across more than 85 countries worldwide. At FAU's annual competition, over $30,000 in scholarship prizes are awarded annually to winners from both the Preliminary Rounds and the Championship. Distinguished FAU community members serve judges and a public vote determines the People's Choice winners. FAU’s 3MT® Championship Award is generously sponsored through the Dr. Eric H. Shaw 3MT ® Championship Award Endowment Fund. For sponsorship opportunities, please contact  3MT@fau.edu.


Watch a live event (details TBA)!


Register by March 1, 2022


Sponsor a scholarship prize.

2022 Competition Schedule

Registration Deadline: March 1, 2022 (Click here to register!)
Preliminary Rounds: March 15 -17, 2022 
Championship: Thursday, March 31, 2022

Students compete in a preliminary round specific to their discipline March 15 - 17, 2022; the First Place, Runner-Up, Second Runner-Up, and People's Choice winners from each round advance to the Championship on Thursday, March 31, 2022. Scholarship prizes will be awarded to both Preliminary Round and Championship winners. Distinguished FAU community members serve judges and a public vote determines the People's Choice winners.

Thank you to FAU's 2021 3MT Championship Judging Panel

Patricia Anastasio, M.D., F.A.A.P
Physician, Advanced Pediatrics of Boca

Kate Arrizza
President & CEO, South Florida Science Center and Aquarium 

Tracy L. Boulukos
Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, Florida Atlantic University

Jervonte “Tae” Edmonds
Founder & CEO of Suits for Seniors, Inc.

Anna M. Ewing
Board Member, Angel Investor, Former CIO Nasdaq (retired)

Larry Faerman, Ph.D.
Acting Vice President for Student Affairs, Florida Atlantic University

Marti Freund, J.D.
Director for Organizational Advancement, Gift of Life Marrow Registry

Daniel Gropper, Ph.D.
Dean of the College of Business, Florida Atlantic University

Michael J. Horswell, Ph.D.
Dean of the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, Florida Atlantic University

Alice Hudson
Technical Director, Surface Chemists of Florida, Inc.

Amy Kornblau
Interim Dean of University Libraries, Florida Atlantic University

Justin Perry, Ph.D.
Dean of the Wilkes Honors College, Florida Atlantic University

Edward E. Pratt, Ph.D.
Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Florida Atlantic University

Eric H. Shaw, Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor of Business (FAU), Consultant, & Philanthropist

Teresa Wilcox, Ph.D.
Interim Dean, Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, Florida Atlantic University

Tori L. Winfield, J.D.
Associate General Counsel, Florida Atlantic University


If reasonable accommodation(s) for a disability is required, contact at  3mt@fau.edu. Please make your needs known at least five days prior to the event for effective accommodations.

The Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT®) is an academic research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), Australia.More information on the 3MT® Program can be found on  threeminutethesis.org.