Faculty Awards


University Scholar

August Stone


Excellence and Innovation in Undergraduate Teaching

Kristin Shockley


Scholar of the Year (College Nominees)

Chris Robé (Professor)

Meredith Ellis (Associate)

Alejandra Abad (Assistant)

Researcher of the Year (College Nominee):

Alka Sapat (Professor)        


Division of Research Associates

Deandre Poole (Communications)

Romain Rivaux (LLCL)

Dorothea Trotter (English)

Tyler Rodgers (Architecture)

Diego Camargo (Architecture)

Kate Polak (Z80008106)  (English)

Lauren Elizabeth Salisbury (Z80017562) (English) 

Sheryl C. Gifford (Z00011776) (English)

Warren Hill Kelly (Z23085208) (English)


NTT Awards

Valentina Martinez

Romain Rivaux

Lina Henao

Julissa Mansilla-Bjalme

Leslie Arboleda

Ryan Townsend

Rebecca Lucatero

David Rossow

Matt Nichols

Jacqueline Mullen

Lauren Salisbury

Nikki Chasteen

Ilene Prusher

Deandre Poole

Scott Wolfson

Robert Caputi

Sharon Placide

Ruth von Spalding

James Graham

Diego Camargo

Tyler rogers

Kristin Shockley


Mentoring Awards


Summer Release

Dagbovie-Mullins, Sika

McConnell, William Ryne

Weinberg, Eyal

LeMoine, Rebecca Susan

Medina, David

Brown, Julia R.

Christley, Olyvia R.

Chenovick, Clarissa

Aguilar Dornelles, Marìa Alejandra


Seed Grants

Sipai Klein

Luisa Turbino-Torres

Luzmarina Garcia

Adriana Garriga-Lopez

Katharina Rynkiewich

Shermeen Yousif

Olyvia Christley


Angela Nichols

Laura Graham


Research and Recognition Awards

Michael Rapoport

William McConnell

Stacey Balkan

Emily Fenichel

Robert Rabil

Jeff Huber

Kenneth Holloway

Annette LaRocco

Daniel Bolojan

Amy Broderick


Scholarly and Creative Achievement Fellowship

Yangsook Kim

Adrianna Garriga Lopez

Carla Thomas

Laura Tanner Graham

Annette LaRocco

Samuel Director

Timothy Miller


Supplemental Research Funding

Carla Calarge

Adrian Finucane

Stacie Rossow

Annette LaRocco

Katharine Napora

Carter Koppelman

Kathryn Johnston

Sharon Hart

Luisa Turbino Torres

Laura Graham

Gerald Sim

Willa Granger

Sika Dagbovie-Mullins

Maria Alejandra

Aguillar Dornelles

William McConnell


Sabbaticals :

Amy Broderick

Shane Eason

Emily Fenichel

Patricia Fleitas


Excellence and Innovation in Undergraduate Advising

Ana-Alicia Cappa

Joseph Jutan


2020 - 2021 

Professor Ayşe Papatya Bucak of the English Department was awarded a prestigious fellowship to attend the Summer 2021 Sewanee Writer's Conference. "The Conference invites talented writers to come to Sewanee each summer to learn from each other in a welcoming and supportive environment". Professor Bucak will also be giving a reading at the Conference.

John Sandell, School of Architecture. Modular Credenza -Design Award of Honor for Object Design presented by the Florida Association of the American Institute of Architects, 2021. 

John Sandell, School of Architecture. Y-Table. International Design Competition, THE PLAN AWARDS, 2021. (Winner of the Industrial Design category.) Over 1600 projects were received among 20 categories ranging in scale  from urban design to industrial design. The jury included internationally renowned architects and designers. 

2019 - 2020

Dr. Adam Bradford was awarded the 2018 James W. Gargano Award for his essay "Any Peculiar Taste or Prepossession'? Poe and the Antebellum Registers of Authorial Interpretation". This is the highest award given by the Poe Studies Association in recognition of the most distinguished article on Poe in a given year.

2016 - 2017

Dr. Stephen Engle (English) was honored at the 55th Annual Barondess/Lincoln Award ceremony in Manhattan for his recent publication,  Gathering to Save a Nation: Lincoln & the Union's War Governors .

Dr. Thomas Martin (English) was awarded the Beverly Rogers Literary Essay Award for his co-written article, "'All for Love, and Nothing for Reward': Psyche from Spenser to Lacan, and the Loss of Critical Values." The article stems from a larger work that he co-authored with Duke Pesta, entitled  The Renaissance and the Postmodern (Routledge University Press, 2016).

2014 - 2015

Ayşe Papatya Bucak (English) was awarded residencies at the Betsy South Beach and the Millay Colony for the Arts as well as a Scholarly Creative Achievement Fellowship from the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters.

Rafael Dalleo (English) won Associate Professor Scholar of the Year at the University level.

Julieann Ulin (English) won Assistant Professor Scholar of the Year in the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters.

2013 - 2014

Ayşe Papatya Bucak (English) won the O. Henry Prize for her story "The History of Girls," and the story was reprinted in O. Henry Prize Stories (2013). Bucak also won a Pushcart Prize for "Iconography," and the story was reprinted in The Pushcart Prize XXXVIII: Best of the Small Presses 2014 Edition .

Christine Scodari (School of Communication and Multimedia Studies) won the Carl Bode Award from the American Culture Association for the best article of the year (2013).

Kevin Wilt (Music) won the Sydney Contemporary Orchestral Call for Wind Quintets for Forest Bagatelles, which was performed in Sydney, Australia, in summer 2014.