Faculty Accomplishments

Prisca Augustyn
Ph.D., Department Of Languages, Linguistics And Comparative Literature

Prisca Augustyn, Ph.D., Department of Languages, Linguistics and Comparative Literature, is on the program committee of the 41st annual meeting of the Semiotic Society of America. The group is a transdisciplinary professional organization serving scholars with common interests in the study of signs and sign systems. The conference will convene in Delray Beach from September 28 - October 2. The group welcomes abstracts on any semiotics-related topic. The society applies semiotic theories and insights to disciplines as diverse as anthropology, the arts, biology, cognitive science, communication, cybernetics, education, ethics, law, literary criticism, linguistics, marketing, media studies, mathematics, pedagogy, philosophy, religion, and technology.

Taylor Hagood
Taylor Hagood

Taylor Hagood won the C. Hugh Holman Award for the best book in southern literary studies from the Society for the Study of Southern Literature.   This is for his book, Faulkner and Disability.  This is among the biggest prizes in the field.

Jane Caputi
Center For Women, Gender And Sexuality Studies

Jane Caputi, Center for Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies, was recently selected by the Popular Culture/American Culture Association as their Eminent Scholar for 2016. This award recognizes significant contributions by a scholar working in a field under the umbrella of Popular or American culture. She will be the featured speaker at the Association's upcoming Awards ceremony.

Brian McConnell
Visual Arts And Art History

Brian McConnell's (Visual Arts and Art History) book "Wall Illustrations from the 'Grotte' di Caratabia (Mineo, Sicily)" was recently published.

Jennifer Low
Associate Professor Of English

Associate professor Jennifer Low(English) just published her latest book,Dramatic Spaces: Scenography and Spectatorial Perceptions, with Routledge Press. Low's work is concerned with stage design and its effect on playwrights and audiences. In the parlance of literary scholarship, plays are texts; for theater professionals, plays are performances. Yet clearly a drama is both text and performance.

Noemi Marin
Full Professor Of Rhetoric And Communication Studies

During the 2014-2015 academic year, Noemi Marin, Full Professor of Rhetoric and Communication Studies, published a co-edited volume entitled Rhetorics of 1989: Rhetorical Archaeologies of Political Transitions. This scholarly collection, singular in its scope,  began as a Special Issue (vol. 18, 2015) of the journal Advances in the History of Rhetoric and was then published as a separate volume by Routledge (2015; ISSN: 1536-2426 print/1936-0835 Online). Along with her co-editor, Cezar Ornatowski, Marin authored the "Introduction" to the volume. As a single author, she contributed a chapter in the volume: "Rhetorical Crossing of 1989:  Communist Space, Arguments by Definition, and Discourse of National Identity Twenty-Five Years Later" (167-186). In addition to publishing the above volume, Marin also continued as editor of The Journal of Literacy and Technology (a bi-annual international academic journal), served as co-organizer of the International Conference on Peace Studies held at FAU on the topic "Colonizing and De/Re-Colonizing Nations: A Research Inquiry into Communist Practices 25 Years Later," and presented research papers at five different international conferences. Marin was also featured in the Romanian Community News as one of the Successful Professionals of Romanian origin in the USA and in Florida.

Joey Bargsten

The transmedia opera "Melancholalaland," which was composed by  Joey Bargsten (SCMS) with choreography by Thea Zimmer, premiered at the Miami Beach Cinematheque. The opera stages local professional opera singers and dancers in a live mix with video, animation and digital music, creating a re-invention of opera that is more accessible to audiences.

Alejandro Sanchez Samper

Alejandro Sanchez Samper's (Music) CD "Bogotá - Buenos Aires," which features the Quinteto Leopoldo Federico (Colombia) and was recorded and released through FAU's Hoot/Wisdom Recordings, was released this past summer. The CD release event was held in the foyer at the Teatro Colón (Colombia's national opera house) in downtown Bogotá. Among the attendees was former Colombian president Belisario Betancourt and former Colombian Secretary of Education Cecilia María Vélez White. Sanchez-Samper gave remarks during the event and spoke about the role and importance of Hoot/Wisdom Recordings as an educational and non-profit enterprise and the role it is playing in the professional development of both students and faculty.

Irena Kofman

Irena Kofman's (Music) newest CD, "Theodor Gouvy, 3 Sonatas for Piano Duet," was released by Talent Records this past Spring. Classical Music Reviews said: "The performance, too, is absolutely first-rate. The De Groote/Kofman team showing not only great empathy for the style, and clearly sounding as if they enjoyed every single note, but in pure terms of balance and ensemble, their playing can simply not be faulted."

Kyle Prescott

The FAU Wind Ensemble, under the direction of Kyle Prescott (music), has been selected to perform at the Southern Division Conference of CBDNA (The College Band Directors National Association) in 2016. The six invited ensembles include The University of Florida, The University of Louisville, and FAU. Cody Birdwell, President of CBDNA summed up the situation concisely: "This invitation represents the pinnacle in terms of research and performance in our distinguished profession, and you should certainly be proud of your musical and educational achievements." The event is in Charleston, South Carolina, in the new $145M Gaillard Center, in February, 2016.