First Soar-in-4 Medical School Pathway Program Participants Announced

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2024
First Soar-in-4 Medical School Pathway Program Participants Announced

December 2023

The Charles E. Schmidt College of Science and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine are pleased to announce the acceptance of the first two undergraduate students into the Soar-in-4 Medical School Pathway program – Charlotte Fieffe and Kaylia Cooper. Earlier this year, the colleges launched the new collaborative pathway program for outstanding Schmidt College of Science Soar-in-4 Scholars.

“We could not be prouder to have Charlotte and Kaylia as the inaugural students selected for this prestigious pathway,” said Evonne Rezler, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, Schmidt College of Science. “These are exemplary students who are on a trajectory to success as future doctors, and we are excited to continue building this program with our partners in the Schmidt College of Medicine.” 

To ensure a smooth transition to the Schmidt College of Medicine, each student will work closely with Schmidt College of Science leadership, faculty, and staff to develop an individual education plan. Accepted students will also receive mentoring from both Schmidt College of Science and Schmidt College of Medicine advisors and will participate in meaningful research, volunteer, and medical experiences.

“We are very excited about the launch of this collaborative pathway program and delighted to have accepted these inaugural students who have demonstrated exceptional achievements both in and outside the classroom,” said Jennifer Caceres, M.D., FACP, Senior Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Admission, Schmidt College of Medicine. “These students have very bright futures ahead of them, and we could not be more pleased to have the opportunity to support them through their journeys with the College of Science as they pursue a career in medicine.”

Fieffe, a junior Biology major, is part of the Lifespan Cognition and Memory research lab with Kevin Darby, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, Schmidt College of Science. She has been honored to be named as a recipient of the Mildred and Rudy Reis Endowed Scholarship, the Florida Atlantic University Alumni Association Endowment Scholarship, and the National Supermarket Association Florida scholarship, as well as a Soar-in-4 Scholar. Fieffe is expected to graduate in December 2024.

“The Schmidt College of Medicine has a great understanding about caring for the community, especially in the areas of health care, community service, and innovation/research,” shared Fieffe. “I also like their teaching style that includes problem-based and group learning lessons. It will allow me to become an independent thinker and learn how to work with a group in a health care setting.”

Cooper, a senior in the Schmidt College of Science Honors in Biological Sciences program, is an undergraduate researcher in the lab of Kailiang Jia, Ph.D., Professor of Biological Sciences, Schmidt College of Science. She is also the winner of FAU’s 2023 Student Talon Leadership Award and is the founding director of the Medi-Futures FAU Virtual Shadowing Program. Cooper grew up in Jamaica where she saw fellow citizens lose faith in the health care system.

“I was born and raised in Montego Bay, Jamaica, where health care has never been the best, and there was always a shortage of good nurses and doctors,” said Cooper. “I want to help make a change in areas such as these where health care is insufficient. My hope is that I can dedicate my life to help people in what could be the lowest moment in their life and make a difference.”

Fieffe and Cooper applied for the Soar-in-4 Medical School Pathway program with assistance from the Schmidt College of Science’s Pre-Health Professions Office. For more information on the pathway program, click here.

Tags: science

Additional Information
The Charles E. Schmidt College of Science offers unparalleled experiential learning opportunities to prepare the next generation of scientists and problem solvers.
Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
Florida Atlantic University
777 Glades Rd, SE-43
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Fax: (561) 297-3292