About Our Dean

Stephen Silverman, Ed.D. COE Dean and Professor

Stephen Silverman, Ed.D. COE Dean and Professor Stephen Silverman, Ed.D., serves as Dean and Professor in the College of Education. He earned his Ed.D. from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, his M.S. from Washington State University and his B.S. from Temple University. Prior to joining FAU in 2019, he served Columbia University’s Teachers College for 21 years, most recently as Professor Education and Senior Advisor to the Provost for Research Preparation. Previously he held faculty positions at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the University of Texas at Austin and Louisiana State University. He began his career as a health and physical education teacher in the School District of Philadelphia.

Dean Silverman’s research focuses on teaching and learning (motor skill and attitude) in physical education and on the methods for conducting research in field settings. He has made more than 225 presentations to international, national and regional groups and has published more than 150 chapters and papers, including nearly 100 refereed research articles. He is the co-author of 18 books related to teaching and research methods. He has served as editor-in-chief, has been a reviewer and a member of the editorial boards of numerous journals, as well as delivered a number of prestigious lectures.

The recipient of the first Exemplary Research Paper Award presented by the American Educational Research Association (AERA) Special Interest Group on Research on Learning and Instruction in Physical Education, Silverman received the Curriculum and Instruction Academy Honor Award from the National Association of Sport and Physical Education (NASPE) and the Distinguished Service Award from the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) Research Consortium. He also was the recipient of the 2008 NASPE Presidential Award. Silverman has served as past chair, co-chair and national chair of several organizations. He is a Fellow in the AAHPERD Research Consortium and an Active Fellow in the National Academy of Kinesiology and is a past president of both organizations. In 2010 he was named an AERA Fellow.