Child Abuse & Neglect Reporting Requirements
The Florida legislature recently passed a bill making it mandatory for everyone to report suspected child abuse or neglect, even if the alleged perpetrator is not the child's caregiver. In addition, the Florida Board of Governors passed a regulation that each university administrator* who receives information from university faculty, staff or other employees of known or suspected child abuse, abandonment, or neglect committed on the property of the university or during an event or function sponsored by the university is required to report such information to the Florida Department of Children and Families (DCF). A "child" is defined as people (including students and others) under 18 years of age.
Administrators, as defined by the Board of Governors, are the following high level personnel who have been assigned the responsibilities of university-wide academic or administrative functions:
Penalties for Failure to Report
A fine of $1 million shall be assessed against a university in the event the Board determines that a university administrator knowingly and willfully failed to report known or suspected child abuse, abandonment, or neglect to the Florida Department of Children and Family Services or knowingly and willfully prevented another person from doing so.
Training for Administrators
All Florida Atlantic University administrators are trained on the child abuse reporting requirements. A training video containing more information can be viewed on the following Board of Governors weblink Training: Protection of Vulnerable Persons.
** Please note that, in addition to the above institutional requirements for the University’s Administrators, all people in Florida have an independent and individual obligation to report known or suspected child abuse, neglect and abandonment to the Department of Children and Family Services via the Abuse Hotline or Online service referenced below.
- Florida Board of Governors - 3.002 Penalties for Failure to Report Child Abuse
- Department of Children and Families - Frequently Asked Questions
- Summary of Protection of Vulnerable Persons Document (HB 1355)
- For more information, contact Human Resources at 561-297-3057