The Florida Institute of Government (IOG) was established in 1981 by the Florida Legislature.  The Florida Institute of Government fulfills its statewide mission through a consortium of five affiliate program offices located at  Florida State University, the  University of Florida, the  University of Central Florida, the  University of South Florida, and Florida Atlantic University.  The Executive Office of the Florida Institute of Government serves as the administrative unit of the program and is located at Florida State University.  The Florida Institute of Government was renamed in 2003 in honor of John Scott Dailey who was the founding Executive Director.

The mission of the John Scott Dailey Florida Institute of Government is to enhance the capacity of Florida governments to effectively serve their communities through education and training, technical assistance and applied research and public service.

The John Scott Dailey Institute of Government at Florida Atlantic University serves state, local government and nonprofit organizations within a eight county service area which encompasses Monroe, Miami Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, Martin, Indian River, St. Lucie and Okeechobee counties.  The Institute is administratively located within the College for Design and Social Inquiry.