Frequently Asked Questions
You can save yourself time by reading through questions students often ask us. Select the appropriate category and question to find the answer.
If you are seeking a degree. First, you must be admitted to the University as an FAU student. If you need to apply to the University, contact theSecond, consider applying for Financial Aid. Third, freshmen must attend Orientation. Then, you can register online using FAU Self-Service which is accessible from
Through an articulation agreement with the county school systems, students attending a public high school in FAU's service area may enroll in college courses that do not duplicate existing high school academic work. Registration for these courses is on a space available basis. Tuition for students participating in this program are waived, however, it is the student's responsibility to comply with the following policies and procedures: students must provide immunization and residency information as required by the State of Florida, and they are also accountable for fees associated with securing a parking decal and a photo ID. Failure to pay these fees within two weeks of the start of the semester may result in the student's cancellation from the class(es). Should this occur the student will be assessed a $100.00 reinstatement fee for which he or she is personally liable. Fees should be paid directly to the Cashier's Office via , , or US Postal Service.
All applicants must complete the for tuition purposes and submit the required documentation, regardless of the duration of their presence in Florida. Incomplete, unsigned or undocumented forms will result in the temporary classification of "non-resident" status until the documentation has been provided, reviewed, and approved by the Office of Admissions.
Enrolled students who are classified as non-Florida residents for tuition purposes and who, after reading the and the for tuition purposes, respectively, in Florida Statute 1009.21 and Florida Board of Governors Resolution dated April 21, 2005 (adopting Florida Dept. of Education Rule 6A-10.044), believe that they may qualify for in-state tuition, may submit a Request for Residency Reclassification. Forms are available from the Office of the Registrar and must be submitted to that office by the deadline published in the Academic Calendar. Supporting documentation is required to substantiate residency for tuition purposes. Merely submitting documentation for Florida residency classification does not guarantee Florida residency status.
, a student must submit a Residency Classification Appeal form to the Residency Appeals Committee through the Office of the Registrar no later than the last day of registration for the term for which the reclassification is requested. The Residency Appeals Committee decision constitutes a "final agency determination". Further appeals is available only through judicial review as defined in section 120.68 of the Florida statutes.
If it has been more than 12 months and you are a degree seeking student, you must re-apply through Admissions.
Continuing Student Registration
- Review your individual degree audit (
(This will provide you with detail on your progress toward your degree and list coursework still needed.)
- Review the for course selection
- Check in MyFAU to see if you have any to prevent registration
- Check the to see when you are eligible to register
- Register online using
*Please note: it is important to keep only one browser window open when using plan ahead or registering for classes.*
New Student Registration
*Please note: it is important to keep only one browser window open when using plan ahead or registering for classes.*
Non-Degree Student Registration ( including Transient Students )
*Please note: it is important to keep only one browser window open when using plan ahead or registering for classes.*
- Review your individual degree audit ( )
The end of the first week of classes is the last day for adding courses. Students can now drop through the 13th week of class. Adding or dropping courses or changing sections is done in Self-Service through . Drops after the first week of classes are fee liable, but will not appear on the transcript.
Effective Spring 2016, If you are dropping ALL of your courses OR your last class after the last day to drop or add this will be considered a withdrawal. An official withdrawal is defined by FAU as dropping all courses or your last course by filing the FAU Complete Course Withdrawal Form which can be obtained by clicking on this link
If a student drops or withdraws from a course during the third week to thirteenth week of classes, the student will receive a grade of "W" on the transcript and will be fee-liable for the course. The student may use Self-Service during the semester to drop or withdraw from a course. After the thirteenth week of classes, a drop or withdrawal incurs an "F" on the student's transcript and the student is still fee-liable. FAU's Exceptional Circumstance Withdrawal and other relevant policy details are in the Academic Policies section of the University Catalog.
All undergraduate degree-seeking students admitted in Fall 2019 (this includes First-Time in College (FTIC) students who were admitted for Summer 2019) and after may not withdraw (with a grade of “W” or “ZR”) from more than two courses at the lower-division level (1000- and 2000-level courses) and from more than three courses at the upper-division or higher level (3000- and 4000-level courses; the limitation also applies to undergraduates taking graduate-level courses).
What Courses are Included and Excluded from the Count of Course Withdrawals?
- Zero- and one-credit courses are excluded from the count of withdrawals.
- Transfer courses with a "W" grade are not counted (this includes transient courses).
- Courses withdrawn due to Exceptional Circumstance Withdrawal are excluded.
- The withdrawal count starts with the entry term as a degree-seeking student.
- Courses taken as a non-degree student are not counted.
- The withdrawal counts will restart for second baccalaureate students.
- Courses taken as Audit are excluded.
How do I know how many withdrawals I have used towards the course-level limits?
Students who are subject to the limited withdrawal policy will have a Current Undergraduate Program Withdrawal Counts section displayed on their unofficial academic transcript which is available through MYFAU. This will appear towards the bottom of the transcript (just above the Excess Hours Calculation section).
If I didn’t use all of my lower-division withdrawals, can I use them towards upper-division course withdrawals – or vice-versa?
If I return for a second baccalaureate, will I be subject to the withdrawal counts from my initial baccalaureate degree?
Drop/Add and Withdrawal
Schedule changes may be made by accessing FAU Self-Service, available through MyFAU , by the appropriate deadlines. Drop/add requests and withdrawals also may be made through MyFAU.
For fall and spring semesters, students may add or drop courses during the first week of the term without incurring a fee and without receiving a “W” on the transcript for dropped courses. The Friday of the first week of the semester is typically the last day for adding/dropping courses and changing sections, but refer to the Academic Calendar, as the last day for the drop/add period may vary. Students may continue dropping courses without receiving a “W” on the transcript during the second week of the semester, but they are fee-liable for the courses during this time (Note:this policy of dropping without receiving an "W" will no longer be available after Spring 2020). Students should understand that adding late into a course might put them at a disadvantage because of the number of classes missed since the start of the semester. Further, not all professors allow students to enter their classes if they have missed the first class. Students must get permission from professors to enter a course late.
If a student drops or withdraws from a course from the 15th day of the full semester through the 10th week of classes, the student will receive a grade of “W” on the transcript and will be fee-liable for the course. The student may use MyFAU during this period to drop or withdraw from a course. Please note that the withdrawal periods differ for mini-terms. Please refer to the Academic Calendar for specific dates tied to mini-terms.
After the 10th week of classes, a drop or withdrawal results in an “F” on the student’s transcript and the student remains fee-liable.
Undergraduate students wishing to drop or withdraw from all of their classes, please complete the following:
1. Drop or withdraw from all but one class through MyFAU by the established deadlines;
2. Complete the online FAU Complete Course Withdrawal form through the MyFAU portal.
3. Once received, the Dean of Students Office will review the form and contact the student, if appropriate, to discuss possible strategies or interventions to ensure a timely graduation.
4. The Office of the Registrar will process the withdrawal from the student's final class(es).
To drop or withdraw from courses during summer terms, students should follow the procedures above, but note the time frames in which to complete the drops. Refer to the Academic Calendar for specific deadlines (and consequences) to drop summer courses.
Additional Drop/Withdrawal Policies
Dropped courses, specifically those dropped during the second week of the term after the drop/add period, those that receive a grade of “W” on the transcript and those that receive a grade of “F” on the transcript, will count as attempted hours on the student’s record. Refer to the Attempted Hours subsection above for information regarding this calculation and its consequences.
Proportionate dates for dropping and withdrawing will be established for courses that are offered in less than the normal semester.
Dropping or withdrawing from courses in which the student is involved in academic irregularities is not permitted.
The subsections Refund of Registration Fees and Repeated Enrollment Fee in the Tuition, Fees and Refunds section of this catalog may be of interest.
Students can register as early as months prior to classes and as late as the first week of classes. Your appointment time is based on your seniority level at the University. Check the Advance Registration Schedule located on our web site at
Registration hold are placed on students' records by different offices to prevent the student from registering until the matter regarding the hold has been resolved. All holds must be cleared by the issuing office BEFORE a student can register.
The course reference number, or CRN, is a five digit number that identifies each course. The CRN is unique to each course and changes every semester. When registering on the web or in person, make sure that you are using the correct CRN. If you do not, you will register for a different course than the one you wanted. The CRN is available on the schedule of courses and is identified in the schedule by "CRN" at the top of the column.
You may complete a Student Transient Form.
2. You will be redirected to the FloridaShines website. At the bottom of the page, below "Get Started" click on "Take a course at another school".
3. At the bottom of the page click on the link "Start or check the status of your Transient Student Admission Application now".
4. You will see a drop-down box headed Select your home institution. From the options, select, Florida Atlantic University by highlighting it with your mouse, then click.
6. Next, there is a drop-down box headed Select a Program. Since the courses you will take at the community college are requirements of your ILP, choose Admissions Requirement Program from the drop-down box. After you have selected this program, click on Next.
How to Complete the Student Transient Form:
7. On the form itself, you will need to type in information such as name and address, and also select options from drop-down boxes. Fill the form out completely. It is especially important that you provide a complete, valid e-mail address. When you come to the section headed Course(s) to be taken at Receiving School, you will need to provide the correct prefix, course number, and credit hours* for each class you will take at the Receiving (or transient) school. For the sub-section headed Use of the Course, choose the category of Admissions Requirements.
8. Under Student Comments, indicate that the course(s) you need to take are in order "to satisfy the Admissions Requirement on the ILP."
How to Submit the Student Transient Form:
9. Carefully read the section headed Student Acknowledgement, then click on the red arrow button Click to Sign in order to indicate your agreement with its terms.
10. You're finished! You will receive an email that will let you know whether or not your transient student status has been approved.
Obtaining Your Logon and PIN: To login to FLVC you will need your student ID number (Your Z Number with a capital 'Z') and your PIN (MMDDYY). Upon admission (or upon registration for non-degree students), your PIN code is automatically generated.
Your PIN is set to your birthdate in mmddyy format. For example, if your birthday were 12/27/74, your PIN would be 122774, or if your birthday were 03/07/82 your code would be 030782.
Claim & Active Your Account
As of September 13, 2012, the initial default password for all new users is the three fau in lowercase followed by your date of birth in MMDDYY format(fauMMDDYY). If you became a student, employee, or faculty member before this date but never logged into MYFAU, your password could be just your date of birth in MMDDYY format.
Example: If your birth date is Septemer 3, 1997, your initial password would be fau090397. If your account was created prior to September 13, 2012 and you have never logged in, then your password could be just your date of birth 090397.
A Z number is a student ID used for identification purposes within the FAU system. Your Z number is unique to you and protects your privacy. Use a capital letter 'Z' when you are entering your Z number (for example: Z12345678). Please remember your Z number and keep it confidential. To look up your FAU Z-number, click here: ).
Any undergraduate student who wishes to register for more than 18 credit/semester hours must see their college advisor for approval. College must stamp/sign "OK for Overload".
All courses have a limit on the number of students who can enroll. Popular or required courses often close early in the registration process. If you attempt to register for a class that has reached its maximum enrollment limit, MyFau Self-service will present you with the option to place yourself on the waitlist. Just click the Action box and choose "Wait Listed" then click on the Submit Changes button.
Certain courses require special permission from the instructor or department. Permission may be processed on line by your professor or entered in the registration system by the department. Permit only courses are identified in the schedule as permission required.
If a class has reached its maximum enrollment limit, you may choose to add your name to the waitlist. If a space opens up in the class, you will be notified via email of the opportunity to register for this class.
If a space opens up in a class for you while you are waitlisted, you will be notified by email only to your FAU email account.
2. Log in to MyFAU, click on FAU Self Service
3. Go to Student Services, Registration - Add/Drop Classes
4. Select Term and click on Submit
5. Select "Web Dropped" in the Action box for this CRN
6. Click the "Submit Changes" button
If no action is taken, after your time has expired you will be dropped and the seat will then be offered to the next student on the waitlist.
Instructional Methods: This describes how the class will meet: In-Person - Meets in a classroom face to face with the professor and other students; Video Streaming - The class can be viewed in another location via the internet; Fully Online - Meets 100 percent online via the internet; Mostly/Mixed Online - The class will meet some percentage of time in a classroom and some percentage of time via or the internet, check with your instructor for specifics on in-person/online meeting requirements.
Log-in using : Username consists of your FAU NetID (your FAU email address without the @fau.edu) and your default password would be your assigned PIN. If you have been out of the university for over one year, you may need to follow the directions for obtaining your password and/or User ID.
See the Student Services web site for grades and to retrieve "unofficial transcripts". In order to view your unofficial transcripts, all financial obligations must be met. If you have a financial hold, you will be prevented from viewing your transcript.
Your transcript(s) will be mailed on the work day following verification of your credit card payment. Second-Day and Overnight delivery is available only in the continental U.S. Overnight and Second day delivery is provided by UPS (United Parcel Service). Please provide a physical address if you choose either delivery option. UPS will not deliver to a PO Box.
You will be asked "I Agree" or "I Don't Agree" to use your PIN*/password as your electronic signature to obtain your official transcript. If you choose "I Don't Agree," see the statement below to request your official transcript in-person or via mail.
Requesting Official Transcripts via Mail?
You may also request a copy of your FAU academic transcript by mail using the online Transcript Request. By Law, your request must include your signature and be dated, and you must have no financial obligations to the University. Transcripts are processed and available for pickup* at any FAU Registrar's Office within one (1) working day after your request is received. Same day pickup is available at the Boca Raton campus ONLY.
Your request for your FAU official academic transcript must include:
a. date of request and your current address
b. your student ID number and full name
c. the name and complete address of your intended recipient(s)
d. fees for the number of copies and any special instructions (see below)
e. your signature
Explain any special instructions such as "hold for your degree to be posted," "hold for your current term grades to be posted," or "hold for a grade change to be processed". Your degree statement(s) posts approximately one (1) week after the commencement ceremony. If you are currently enrolled, term grades are posted approximately one (1) week after all final exams end.
To order your official transcript by mail send $10.00 per copy payment by check or money order only payable to Florida Atlantic University and your FAU Official Transcript Request Form to:
Florida Atlantic University
Attn.: Official Transcript Department
777 Glades Road, PO Box 3091
Boca Raton, FL 33431-0991
To order your transcript in person, complete the transcript request form and submit it to the Office of the Registrar on any campus. *Same day pickups available only at the Boca Raton Campus.
Students are expected to be familiar with and to conform to the regulations of the University. An academic petition may be filed when a particular academic requirement or regulation causes undue hardship for the student.
Degree-seeking undergraduate students with declared majors may direct their petitions to their college or department; degree-seeking students with undeclared majors may direct their petitions to Freshman Academic Advising Services. Nondegree-seeking students may direct their petitions to the college, department or program to which their request applies.
Undergraduate students may appeal the decisions made on their petitions through their colleges and with individuals or groups not involved in the initial request.
Graduate students may direct their academic petitions to the Office of Graduate Studies.
Contact the Controller's Office if the petition relates to refunds, waivers, or withdrawal from courses in other than exceptional circumstances.
Withdrawal for Exceptional Circumstances is a type of petition for which the Office of Student Affairs & Enrollment Management is responsible. This type of petition is discussed in detail in two sections of the University Catalog: Academic Policies and Regulations and Tuition, Fees, and Refunds.
You can change your address and contact information online using FAU Self-Service, which is accessible through MyFAU. After you login, choose the Personal Information tab.
Changing your major to a different college requires a Change of Major form. This form is available in the Office of the Registrar and in most college offices. Please seek academic advising.
The National Student Clearinghouse is now Florida Atlantic University's authorized agent for providing degree and enrollment verifications for students, employers or background screening firms.
Students may access this service through our secure website atLog-in and search under "Student Services".
Students may request enrollment verifications for the current term or for a total enrollment history. This service will provide verifications for agencies such as Health insurance, student loans, future employment, military IDs, and degree certification. This service is free of charge and is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
In certain designated undergraduate courses, undergraduate students may elect to receive a Pass (P) or Fail (F) grade rather than a standard grade. "P" grades are not calculated in grade point averages (G.P.As); "F" grades ARE calculated in G.P.As Students may change the grading option for a course designated as pass/fail through the end of the drop/add period. Students may take only one P/F class per semester and up to 12 credits during their entire course study at FAU. Please see the University Catalog for the Pass/Fail policy.
The University Forgiveness Policy permits an undergraduate student to repeat an FAU course and allows only the last grade to count in the grade point average. The policy does not remove the previous grade but eliminates the effect of that grade on the FAU cumulative GPA by removing it from the computation. The Forgiveness Policy does not apply to non-degree or transient students, nor does it apply to S/U courses.
Forgiveness Policy Request forms should be submitted after the course has been repeated. In the event that a student chooses to repeat a course that is no longer offered by the University, it is the prerogative of the academic unit that offered the original course to either deny the student’s request or to designate an appropriate, related substitute course. You may complete and print the online.
For more information please refer to the University Catalog.
According to , students who entered a State of Florida community college or university for the first time in fall 2009 or thereafter will be subject to an excess hour surcharge, which could result in a surcharge on tuition. Students shall pay an excess hour surcharge equal to 50 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 120 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled. For example, if the student’s degree program requires 120 credits, an excess hour surcharge will be assessed if the student takes more than 144 credits.
In 2011, the statute was amended and now mandates that students entering a State of Florida community college or university for the first time in fall 2011 or thereafter shall pay an excess hour surcharge equal to 100 percent of the tuition rate for each credit hour in excess of 115 percent of the number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled. As an example, students enrolled in a degree program that requires 120 credits will be assessed the excess hour surcharge if they go beyond 138 credits.
Credits taken at FAU and all credits earned at another institution (i.e., transfer credits) apply to the excess hour calculation. However, some credit hours are not factored in the calculation. These include Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate and Dual Enrollment credits, among others. Please refer to the statute for a list of the included credit hours and exceptions.
FAU has formulated policies and developed curricula to comply with the Florida Administrative Code section known as the Gordon Rule, found at section 6A-10.030 of the Florida Administrative Code. This rule requires students entering college or university study for the first time after October 15, 1982, to complete successfully, with grades of "C" or higher, 12 credit hours of writing and 6 credit hours of mathematics as a requirement for admission to the upper-division. The 12 credit-hours of writing must be in courses designated as Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) or Gordon Rule.
Students transferring from out-of-state institutions, who think they may have completed Gordon Rule equivalent courses with grades of "C" or better, must obtain a letter from the previous institution stating that at least 6,000 words were written in the course. Such letters should be mailed directly to the Office of the Registrar at the Boca Raton Campus.
For more information regarding Gordon Rule requirements, please consult the University Catalog in the Academic Regulations section.
You can perform a Degree Audit through MyFAU. The Degree Audit is a comparison of a student's FAU academic history to his/her major program requirements. Students should always consult with their academic advisor concerning degree requirements to be certain they understand the audit.
Graduating students are required to complete and submit an to the Office of the Registrar. The application must be first signed by the Dean's Office of the student's college. It is the responsibility of the student to insure that the application is submitted to the Registrar's Office by the deadline listed in the academic calendar. Late applications will not be processed. There is no charge for applying for graduation.
To order a duplicate/replacement diploma, fill out a Please be advised that a charge of $10.00 (credit or debit card) is required for any duplicate or replacement diploma order. Once the request has been received, it will take approximately 4-6 weeks to process. If there are any questions, please call (561) 297-2731.
Non-degree registration is for students not interested in pursuing an FAU degree at this time such as taking courses for enrichment, for certification, to transfer to another university, applied too late for the upcoming term, and for applicants with no admission decision. Coursework for credit will appear on an FAU transcript.
Credits earned by a Non-degree seeking student may subsequently be applied to a degree seeking program. Up to 9 credits may be transferred. If the credits exceed 9 credits, approval from the college in which the student has enrolled must be obtained.
** Non-degree students must comply with state immunization and residency policies. An application plus a non-refundable/non-transferable $30.00 fee is required to enroll in this category.
** Graduate courses in the College of Business are not available for non-degree registrants. Non-degree students who wish to register for graduate courses in Psychology must obtain permission of the instructor plus a college stamp.
Yes, all students regardless of class or classification are required to adhere to all stated prerequisites. Check with the department, or the University Catalog for more information.
To register as a 60+ Student you must be 60 years or older and meet the Florida residency requirements for tuition purposes. A "Florida resident" for tuition purposes is a person who has established and maintained legal residency in Florida for the previous 12 month period. For further information ...
Students who wish to audit a course may register during the first week of classes, see the for specific dates. Students cannot change to audit status after the end of the drop/add period. An auditor is one who wishes to take a class without receiving credit or a grade for a course. Auditors may obtain an audit registration form from the Office of the Registrar on any campus. Auditors must
All auditors must be in compliance with the (State University System (SUS) Measles/Rubella immunization policy and residency requirements).