Schedule (TENTATIVE)

Saturday, February 12, 2022
Student Union, Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton Campus

Click here for location information.


Receive updates, sponsorship opportunities and information about the upcoming conference.


 

This schedule is subject to change. All speakers listed are confirmed.

8:00 a.m. EST

(1:00 p.m. UTC)

Lobby

Sign-In

8:45 a.m. EST

(1:45 p.m. UTC)

Live Oak Pavilion

Welcome

Welcome from FAU and college leadership. Review of itinerary.

9:00 a.m. EST

(2:00 p.m. UTC)

Live Oak Pavilion

Plenary Talk: Moustafa Awada, Ph.D., Physicist and Chief Risk and Investment Sciences Officer at Alpha Innovations Global Investment LLC

Details TBA

9:50a.m. EST

(2:50 p.m. UTC)

Live Oak Pavilion

Coffee Break

10:15 a.m. EST

(3:15 p.m. UTC)

Rooms: TBA

Minisymposium Session 

Talks in this session will take place in parallel at three separate time slots of 30 minutes each: 10:15 a.m., 10:45 a.m., and 11:15 a.m. Order of talks TBA. Session topics and talks listed below.

Urban Applications of Data Science 

"Person-Activity Tracking with Smartphones as a Way to Measure the Impact of Government Lockdowns During the COVID-19 Pandemic"
Louis Merlin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, FAU Department of Urban and Regional Planning

"Structured Additive Regression and Tree Boosting"
Michael Mayer, Ph.D., Pricing Actuary, La Mobilière, Bern, Switzerland

"How Does Street Space Influence Crash Frequency? An Analysis Using Segmented Street View Imagery"
Jonathan Stiles, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, FAU Urban and Regional Planning  

Computational Perspectives on Brain Function and Behavior

"Normalization in Neuroscience and Deep Neural Networks"
Odelia Schwartz, Ph.D., Associate Professor, University of Miami

"Thalamocortical Function in Sleep and Wakefulness"
Carmen Varela Castro, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Florida Atlantic University

"Talk Title TBA"
Fabian de Soto, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Florida International University

Medical Physics and Image Processing 

"Designing an IT-Based Decision Support System for Optimizing Cancer Treatment"
Adnan Muhammad Shah, Ph.D., Data Scientist, Postdoc Research Associate, Department of Physics, Florida Atlantic University

"Radiomics for Early Prediction of Radiation Induces Toxicities"
Saad Bin Saeed Ahmed, M.A., Medical Physics, Department of Physics, Florida Atlantic University

TBA

11:45 a.m. EST

(4:45 p.m. UTC)

Break

12:00 p.m. EST

(5:00 p.m. UTC)

Rooms: TBA

Plenary Talk: Joshua Schrier, Ph.D., Kim B. and Stephen E. Bepler Chair Professor of Chemistry at Fordham University

Details TBA

12:50 p.m.
(5:50 p.m. UTC)

Break

 

1:00 p.m. EST

(6:00 p.m. UTC)

Live Oak Pavilion

Lunch and Poster Session

2:15 p.m. EST

(7:15 p.m. UTC)

Rooms: TBA

Minisymposium Session

Talks in this session will take place in parallel at three separate time slots of 30 minutes each: 2:15 p.m., 2:45 p.m., and 3:15 p.m. Order of talks TBA. Session topics and talks listed below.

AI in Chemistry and Molecular Medicine 

"Data-Guided Protein Stabilization"
Jedediah M. Singer, Ph.D., Principal Research Scientist, Two Six Technologies

"Incorporating Biological Context into Data-Driven Models"
Mohammed Ali Eslami, Ph.D., Chief Data Scientist, Co-founder, Netrias, LLC

 TBA

Geoscience Data Mining using Machine Learning Techniques

"Machine Learning Applications in Remote Sensing and Environmental Management"
Sara Durgan, Ph.D., Remote Sensing & UAS Data Scientist at AECOM

"Augmenting Geological and Image Analysis Techniques with Machine Learning for Sand Characterization"
Molly Smith, Ph.D., Scientist and Teacher, Omni Middle School

"Permafrost Characterization in Alaska and Greenhouse Gases Estimation in the Everglades using AI and Multiple Earth Data Sources"
Caiyun Zhang, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Geosciences, Florida Atlantic University

Mathematical Foundations of Data Science and AI

"Computational Characterization of Large-scale Brain Dynamic Landscapes and Attractor Transition Networks"
Mengsen Zhang, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Researcher, University of North Carolina

TBA

TBA

3:45 p.m. EST

(8:45 p.m. UTC)

Break

4:00 p.m. EST

(9:00 p.m. UTC)

Live Oak Pavilion

Plenary Talk/Panel: TBA

 

4:50 p.m. EST

(9:50 p.m. UTC)

Wrap Up


Click here to view the 2020 Schedule 

Click here to view the 2019 Schedule