FAU

department of english


Faculty


The phone numbers listed below are extensions for calling within the university system. Use the following area codes and prefixes to call from outside the system:

Boca Raton campus (561) 297-
Davie campus (954) 236-
MacArthur (Jupiter) campus (561) 799-

Adams, Robert Don, Professor. 
Office: Davie DW 303J. Phone: 7-3830. radams@fau.edu 
Areas of Specialization: Modern British and American Literature, Gay and Lesbian Literature

Balkan, Stacey , Assistant Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 325. Phone: 7-3830. sbalkan@fau.edu
Area of Specialization: Literature and the Environment, Eco-criticism, Postcolonial Literature and Theory, Postcolonial Eco-criticism, Anglophone World Literature  

Barrios, Barclay, Associate Dean and Associate Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 338. Phone: 7-4573.  bbarrios@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Composition and Rhetoric, Computers and Composition, Writing Program Administration, Technorhetoric

Berlatsky, Eric L., Professor and Department Chair.
Office:  Boca Raton, CU 306G. Phone: 7-3831.  eberlats@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization:  20th-century British and Postcolonial Literatures, Modernism, Postmodernism, Critical Theory, Comics Studies

Boutelle, RJ , Assistant Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 341. Phone: 7-3830. rboutelle@fau.edu
Area of Specialization: African American Literature, Early USAmerican Literature, Hemispheric Studies, Critical Race Theory, Diaspora, Print Culture and History of the Book

Bradford, Adam, Associate Dean, Associate Professor, and Director of the Comparative Studies PhD Program.
Office: Boca Raton, AH 214. Phone: (GV) 754-816-6236. abradfo5@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th- and 19th-century American Literature, material culture and history of the book.


Bucak, A. Papatya , Associate Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 348. Phone: 7-3830. pbucak@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Fiction

Buckton, Oliver, Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 364. Phone: 7-3836. obuckton@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 19th-century and 20th-century British Literature and Culture, Film, Gender Studies, Spy Fiction, Theory and Criticism

Dagbovie-Mullins, Sika, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 323. Phone: 7-3830sdagbovi@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization:  African-American Literature, Women's Studies, Theories of Race, Gender, and Ethnicity

Faraci, Mary, Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 330. Phone: 7-3830. faraci@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Linguistics and Medieval Literature

Furman, Andrew, Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 360. Phone: (GV) 561-440-3630. afurman@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century American and Multi-ethnic Literature, Judaic Studies, Creative Writing, Fiction, Creative Non-fiction

Galin, Jeffrey , Associate Professor and Director of the University Center for Excellence in Writing.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 350. Phone: 7-3830. jgalin@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Composition, Literacy, Technology, and Intellectual Property

Garofalo, Devin , Assistant Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 326. Phone 7-3830. dgarofalo@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 19th-century British literature and culture, poetry and poetics, formalism, the history of science and the environmental humanities, empire, gender and sexuality, aesthetics and politics  

Hagood, Taylor, Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 343. Phone: 7-3830. thagood@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: American Literature and Culture (Faulkner, African American, Southern) and Critical Theory

Hinshaw, Wendy, Associate Professor and Director of the Writing Program.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 306J. Phone: 7-3838. whinshaw@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Contemporary Rhetoric and Composition Theory, Feminist Theory, Literacy Studies, Prison Literature, and Service-Learning

Kini, Ashvin , Assistant Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 322. Phone: 7-3830 akini@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Postcolonial literature, U.S. multiethnic literature, transnational feminist and queer studies, critical ethnic studies, British and U.S. empire, Asian American studies, film studies

Leeds, John C. , Associate Professor.
Office: Davie, DW 303G. Phone: 7-3830. jleeds@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: English Renaissance Literature, Classics

Lettman, Stacy . Assistant Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 332. Phone: 7-3830. lettmans@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Caribbean Literature

Low, Jennifer, Professor Emeritus.
Phone: 7-3830. jlow@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Renaissance Literature, Drama, Modern Poetry

MacDonald, Ian, Assistant Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 315. Phone: 7-3830. imacdonald@fau.edu
Areas of specialization: Speculative Fiction and Fantasy,  African and Diasporic Literature,  Postcolonial Literature and Theory,  Utopian Literature,  Globalization and Cosmopolitanism

Martin, Thomas , Associate Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 318. Phone: 7-3830. tmartin@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Theory and criticism, Renaissance Literature

Mason, Julia , Associate Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 339. Phone: 7-3830. jmason32@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Rhetoric and Composition, Professional and Technical Writing, Posthuman Theory, Computers and Composition

McGuirk, Carol , Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 313. Phone: 7-3830. cmcguirk@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th-century British Literature, Scottish Studies, Contemporary Fiction

McKay, Becka , Associate Professor and Director of Creative Writing.
Office: Davie, DW 303L. Phone: 7-3830. rmckay3@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Translation, Creative Writing

Mitchell, Susan , Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 362. Phone: 7-2961. smitch21@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Poetry

Murtaugh, Dan , Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 353. Phone: (GV) 561-349-7141. dmurtaug@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Medieval and Renaissance British Literature

Schmitt, Kate , Associate Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 328. Phone: 7-2570. kschmit5@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Nonfiction     

Schwartz, Jason , Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 357. Phone: 7-3837. jschwart@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Fiction

Scroggins, Mark , Professor Emeritus.
Phone: 7-3830. mscroggi@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century American Literature, Poetry, Modernism, and Post-Modernism, Creative Writing

Stockard, Emily , Associate Professor and Associate Department Chair.
Office: DW 303B and CU 342. Phone: 7-3830 . stockard@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: English Renaissance

Ulin, Julieann, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 349. Phone: 7-3830. julin@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Irish Literature, Transatlantic Modernism

Valenzuela, José A. de la GarzaAssistant Professor.
Office: Boca Raton, CU 346. Phone: 7-3830. jdelagarzavalenz@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Latinx Literature
 
Instructors 

Amadori, Claudia. Instructor of English. Office: CU 356. Phone:(GV) 561-349-7102. camadori@fau.edu

Anderson, Stephanie. Instructor of English. Office: CU 340. Phone:  7-3830. sjohn210@fau.edu

Blount, Janelle.  Instructor of English. Office: CU 347. Phone: 7-3830. blountj@fau.edu

Cassanetti, Nico. Visiting Instructor of English.  Office: CU 331. Phone:  7-3830. ncassane@fau.edu

Criscuolo, Melissa Senior  Instructor of English. Office: CU 318. Phone: 7-3830.  mgarc112@fau.edu

De Stefano, Kelly. Instructor of English. Office: CU 306B. Phone: 7-3830. kdestef@fau.edu  

Frost, Tiffany. Instructor of English. Office: CU 355. Phone: 7-3830. tfrost3@fau.edu

Gifford, Sheryl. Instructor of English. Office: CU 358. Phone: 7-3830. sgifford@fau.edu

Gothard, Andrew. Instructor of English. Office: CU 331. Phone: 7-3830. jgothard@fau.edu

Grabenhorst, Kimberly. Visiting Instructor of English. Office: CU 342. kgrabenh@fau.edu

Gutting, Gabrielle. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 344. Phone: 7-3830. ggutting@fau.edu  

Henson, Jacob. Instructor of English. Office: CU 351. Phone: 7-3830. jhenson4@fau.edu

Jasin, Joanne , Instructor. Office: DW 303M. Phone: 7-3830. jjasin@fau.edu     

Kelly, Warren Hill . Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 345. Phone: 7-3830wkelly13@fau.edu

Kiley, Erin. Instructor of English. Office: CU 329. Phone: 7-3830. ekiley1@fau.edu

Moorhead, Kathleen. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 350. Phone: 7-3830. kmoorhea@fau.edu

Parker, Matt. Visiting Instructor of English. Office: CU 316. Phone:  7-3830 . mparke31@fau.edu

Potter, Richard . Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 319. Phone: 7-3830. rpotter@fau.edu  

Redman, Frederick. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 327. Phone: 7-3830. fredman@fau.edu

Rooney, Scarlett. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 352. Phone: 7-3830. srooney2@fau.edu

Sheffield-Gentry, Mary . Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 306F. Phone: 7-3830. msheffi3@fau.edu

Sink, Suzanne. Instructor of English. Office: GS 215D. Phone: 7-3830. ssink@fau.edu 

Trewick, Lillith. Senior Instructor of English. Office: CU 317. Phone: 7-3830. ltrewick@fau.edu

Waldron, Justin. Instructor of English. Office: CU 342. Phone:  7-3830 . jwaldro4@fau.edu

White, James. Instructor of English. Office: CU 340. Phone:  7-3830 .   jameswhite2013@fau.edu

Zvolensky, Julianne. Instructor of English. Office: CU 324. Phone: 7-3830.  jcurran3@my.fau.edu  


Affiliated Faculty


Berger, Alan L. , Raddock Eminent Scholar Chair for Holocaust Studies, Director, The Center for the Study of Values and Violence after Auschwitz. Office: Boca Raton, AH 118. Phone: 7-2979. aberger@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Literature of the Holocaust, Modern Jewish Thought, Jewish Theology, Jewish American Literature

Shusterman, Richard, Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar in the Humanities and Professor of Philosophy and English, Director, Florida Atlantic University Center for Body, Mind, and Culture. Office: Boca Raton, SO 124. Phone: 7-0851. shuster1@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: American Philosophy, Aesthetics, Ethics and Political Theory, Philosophy of Language and Mind, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Literary Criticism and Theory, Modernism and Postmodernism

For more information contact the Department of English administrative office at 297-3830 or at english@fau.edu
 Last Modified 10/18/17