FAU Honors 2015 Outstanding Young Owl Award Recipients

The FAU Alumni Association recently hosted its second annual ceremony to honor outstanding young alumni under age 40 from eight of FAU’s colleges for their personal and professional accomplishments.

From left, FAUAA Board of Directors Chair Tiffany Weimar ’08, ’10; The Honorable Armand Grossman ’67, ’70, ’77; award recipient Gabriel Somarriba ’03, D.P.T.; FAU President John Kelly; and Donald Torok, associate dean of FAU’s College of Education

By amy haycock | 9/29/2015

The Florida Atlantic University Alumni Association (FAUAA) recently hosted its second annual ceremony and reception to honor outstanding young alumni at the Broward Center for Performing Arts in Fort Lauderdale. The Outstanding Young Owls (OYO) awards program recognized exceptional alumni under age 40 from eight of FAU’s colleges for their personal and professional accomplishments. These individuals serve as exemplary representatives of the academic and personal development ideals of FAU. 

“The OYOs provide us with a platform to celebrate the considerable achievements of our younger graduates,” said Pat Breman, interim assistant vice president of alumni relations. “We are extremely proud of this year’s recipients and know these Owls will continue to soar in the future.”

Representing eight of FAU’s colleges are the following Outstanding Young Owls:

Brooke L. Dean, C.N.M., M.S.N., B.S.N. ’05, Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing – Dean is a certified nurse-midwife at a private practice in Lake Mary and at Memorial Regional Hospital in Hollywood. She also is an adjunct professor within FAU’s Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, as well as at the University of Cincinnati and Frontier Nursing University.

Kristina Klaas, B.A. ’11, Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College – Klaas is the patron engagement and grants manager for Palm Beach Opera in West Palm Beach. She also serves as a member of the Junior League of the Palm Beaches Community Advisory Board and Dreyfoos in White Committee member for the Dreyfoos School of the Arts Foundation.

Stephen Orchard, B.A. ’98, College for Design and Social Inquiry – Orchard is the founder of the Law Offices of Stephen Orchard, located in central Boca Raton, which focuses on real estate law and bankruptcy. He is a Honda Classic Ambassador and contributes his time and resources to the St. Baldrick’s Foundation through Calusa Elementary School.

Justin Perrault, Ph.D. ’13, Charles E. Schmidt College of Science – Perrault is a visiting assistant professor at the University of South Florida St. Petersburg and an adjunct scientist at Mote Marine Laboratory. He has authored numerous articles in academic and professional journals, and has shared his marine biology expertise through lectures at universities and government agencies nationwide.

Jeremy Rodgers, B.S.C.E. ’01, M.S. ’04, College of Engineering and Computer Science – Rodgers works in IBM CIOLab (Security Innovations) under the IBM Office of the CIO, where he leads technical teams to focus on next generation computer security challenges. He is an active Information Warfare Officer in the U.S Navy Reserve as well as a member of the Boca Raton City Council.

Eric P. Salzman, B.A. ’03, M.A. ’14, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters – Salzman serves as the controller for 4 Media Central, LLC/FSX Holdings, LLC in Deerfield Beach. He is the president of the Pi Kappa Alpha Alumni Association of South Florida and a member of the FAUAA, the Society for Human Resource Management, the Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society and the Graduate History Club.

Gabriel Somarriba, P.T., D.P.T., L.M.T., B.M.O., B.S.E. ’03, College of Education – Somarriba is an assistant professor at the University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences in Miami and assistant professor of pediatrics at the University of Miami. He also serves as director and academic coordinator of clinical education for the Doctorate in Physical Therapy program at the University of St. Augustine.

Cynthia Spray, A.I.A., N.C.A.R.B., L.E.E.D. A.P., M.B.A. ’03, College of Business – Spray is a licensed Florida architect, interior designer, and realtor; certified by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards; and LEED-accredited professional by the United States Green Building Council. She is a member of the American Institute of Architects, as well as president-elect and committee chair for Build Palm Beach 2015.