FAU
Department of History
History Group 2014

Faculty & Staff

  
Evan Bennett

Evan Bennett (bio)

Associate Professor
20th-century U.S., Florida, American South
ebennett@fau.edu
561.297.0008

  Boyd Breslow

Boyd Breslow (bio)

Associate Professor
Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe/England
breslow@fau.edu  
561.297.3849

  
Gracilla Cruz-Taura

Graciella Cruz-Taura (bio)

Associate Professor
Latin American Cultural, Cuban Studies
cruz@fau.edu
561.297.3828

  Claudia Dunlea

Claudia Dunlea (bio)

Senior Instructor
Modern Europe
cdunlea@fau.edu
561.297.1001

  
Stephen D. Engle

Stephen D. Engle (bio)

Professor and Director History Symposia
19th-century America, Civil War and Reconstruction
engle@fau.edu
561.297.2444

  Adrian Finucane

Adrian Finucane (bio)

Assistant Professor
Colonial America, Caribbean, Shipping
afinucane@fau.edu
561.297.3951

  
Barbara Ganson

Barbara Ganson (bio)

Professor
Latin America, Aviation
bganson@fau.edu
561.297.4125

  Eric Hanne

Eric Hanne (bio)

Associate Professor
Early Middle East, Islamic, Ottoman
ehanne@fau.edu
561.297.3847

  
Kenneth Holloway

Kenneth Holloway (bio

Associate Professor
Ancient China, Japan, Intellectual
khollow4@fau.edu 
561.297.1328

  Douglas Kanter

Douglas Kanter (bio)

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Fellow of the Royal Historical Society
Modern Britain, British Empire, Ireland
dkanter1@fau.edu 
 561.297.3593

  
Patricia Kollander

Patricia Kollander (bio)

Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies in History
Modern Germany, Russia, European Diplomatic
kollande@fau.edu
561.297.4156

  Ben Lowe

Ben Lowe (bio)

Chair and Professor

Early Modern Europe, Tudor-Stuart England, Intellectual
bplowe@fau.edu
561.297.3841

  
Byron McCane

Byron McCane(bio)
 
Professor
World Religions, Archeology, Ancient Religions
bmccane@fau.edu
561.799.8818 (Jupiter)/561.297.4796(Boca)

  Douglas McGetchin

Douglas McGetchin (bio)

Associate Professor
World History, Modern Europe/Germany, India
dmcgetch@fau.edu
561.799.8226

  
Sandra Norman

Sandra Norman (bio)

Associate Professor
Public, Material Culture, Environmental
norman@fau.edu
561.297.2621

  Edward E. Pratt

Edward E. Pratt (bio)

Associate Professor, Dean, Undergraduate Studies
Modern Japan and China
epratt2@fau.edu 
561.297.1171

  
Mark H. Rose

Mark H. Rose (bio)

Professor
20th-century U.S., Urban, Business, Public Policy
mrose@fau.edu
561.297.4295

  Marianne Sanua Dalin

Miriam Sanua Dalin (bio)

Professor
American Jewish, Zionism, Sephardic Studies
msanua@fau.edu
561.297.1103

  
Kelly Shannon

Kelly Shannon (bio)

Assistant Professor
U.S. since 1945, Human Rights, Diplomatic, Women
shannonk@fau.edu
561.297.1329

  Jason Sharples

Jason Sharples (bio)

Assistant Professor
Colonial North America, American Slavery, Revolutionary America
jsharples@fau.edu
561.297.4928

  
Carl Suddler

Carl Suddler (bio)

Assistant Professor
African and African American Studies
561.297.2527

   

 

  

Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College

  
 Jeffrey L. Buller

Jeffrey L. Buller (bio)

Director and Professor, Leadership and Professional Development
Greek/Classical Mythology and Tradition
jbuller@fau.edu
561.799.8024

  Christopher Ely

Christopher Ely (bio)

Associate Professor
Modern Russia, European Cultural
 cely@fau.edu
561.799.8607

  
Chris Strain

Chris Strain (bio)
 
Professor
American Studies, African-American, Ethnic Studies
cstrain@fau.edu
561.799.8017

   

 

   

Adjuncts and Affiliated Appointments

  
Sarah H. Brown

Sarah H. Brown (bio)

Associate Professor, retired
U.S. South, 20th-century U.S., Civil Rights
sbrown@fau.edu
561.297.3840

   

 

  
 

 

   

 

  

Emeritus Faculty

  
 

Leslie Derfler (bio)

Professor Emeritus
Modern France/Europe, Biography
derfler1@fau.edu
 561.465.2997

   

Tsung I. Dow

Professor Emeritus
China, Japan, Eastern Intellectual
561.297.3840

  
 

Heather Frazer (bio)

Professor Emerita
Modern Britain, European Women, India, Oral History
frazer@fau.edu
561.297.2621

   

Harry Kersey (bio)

Professor Emeritus
U.S., Native American, Florida
 kersey@fau.edu
561.297.3940

  
 

 

   

 

  

Staff

  
Zella Linn

Zella Linn (bio)

Program Assistant/Webmaster
Educational Administration, Counselor Education/Student Personnel and Higher Education, History, Physical Education
zlinn@fau.edu
561.297.3840

   

 

  
 Last Modified 6/20/17