People

Senior Members

Curet

Oscar Curet, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 
Department of Ocean and Mechanical Engineering 
FAU College of Engineering and Computer Science
ocuret@fau.edu

Pados

Gonzalo Garcia-Garreton, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Scientist
Department of Ocean and Mechanical Engineering 
FAU College of Engineering and Computer Science
garciag@fau.edu

Ni

Zhen Ni, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science 
FAU College of Engineering and Computer Science
zhenni@fau.edu

Torabi

Dimitris Pados, Ph.D.,
Director,

Charles E. Schmidt Eminent Scholar Professor of Engineering and Computer Science, I-SENSE Fellow
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
FAU College of Engineering and Computer Science
dpados@fau.edu

Sklivanitis

George Sklivanitis, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor, I-SENSE Fellow
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
FAU College of Engineering and Computer Science
gsklivanitis@fau.edu

Torabi

Amir Torabi, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Scientist 
I-SENSE & Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
FAU College of Engineering and Computer Science
atorabi@fau.edu

Youssif

Shermeen Yousif, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
School of Architecture
FAU Dorothy Schmidt College of Arts and Letters
syousif@fau.edu

Zhong

Xiangnan Zhong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
FAU College of Engineering and Computer Science
xzhong@fau.edu


Doctoral Degree Students

Orfanidis

George Orfanidis
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
gorfanidis2021@fau.edu

Varma

Kavita Varma, M.Sc.
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
kvarma2018@fau.edu

Naderi

Sanaz Naderi
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and  Computer Science
snaderi2021@fau.edu

Saidi

Mostapha Al-Saidi
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
malsaidi2015@fau.edu

hermans

Jared Hermans
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
jhermans2018@fau.edu

Yanbin

Yanbin Lin
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
linyanbin_peky@foxmail.com

Shruti

Shruti Shukla
Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
sshukla2020@fau.edu

Uddin

Mohammod Irfan Uddin
Research Assistant
Department of Ocean and Mechanical Engineering
muddin2017@fau.edu

Felipe

German Felipe Sanchez Solano
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
gsanchezsola2019@fau.edu

Emily

Emily Chamberlain
M.S. Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
echamberlain2019@fau.edu

Jose

Michael Laubenberger
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
mlaubenb@fau.edu

Jose B.

Jose Baca Bustillo
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
jbaca2019@fau.edu

Basak

Basak Kocaoglu
Graduate Research Assistant
Center for Complex Systems and Brain Sciences
bkocaoglu2018@fau.edu

Jose

Jose Sanchez
Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
josesanchez2019@fau.edu


Undergraduate Students

hassan

Dariush Hassan
Undergraduate Student Researcher
College of Engineering and Computer Science
Project: Machine learning for RF signal classification
dhassan2019@fau.edu

sanchez

Sumer Roberson
Undergraduate Student Researcher
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
sroberson2018@fau.edu

Cheng

Wen-Chung (Andy) Cheng
Undergraduate Student Researcher
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Project: Mobile robot navigation and charging
wcheng3@fau.edu


Visiting Students

molfese

Francesco Molfese
Visiting M.Sc. Student
La Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
May 2021-August 2021
Project: Toward secure underwater communications: Private key reconciliation
fmolfese2021@fau.edu

muscara

Giulia Muscara
Visiting M.Sc. Student
La Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
May 2021-August 2021
Project: Deep learning based classification of wireless protocols
gmuscara2021@fau.edu

 Federica

Federica Di Giacomo
Visiting M.Sc. Student
La Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
May 2022-August 2022
Project: Secure mmWave communications
fdiagiacomo2022@fau.edu


High-School Students

Phillips

Charlie Phillips
High school Student Researcher (now CS undergraduate at Carnegie Mellon University)
Suncoast High-School, Riviera Beach, FL 
Summer 2018, 2019 intern
Project: Low-power long-range wireless mesh networks
cgp246@gmail.com

Noel

Jayden Noel
High school Student Researcher 
FAU High School, Boca Raton, FL 
Summer 2021 intern
Project: Underwater acoustic energy harvesting 
jaydennoel2019@fau.edu

Noel

Pavan Kumar
High school Student Researcher 
American Heritage School, Palm Beach Campus, Delray Beach, FL Summer 2022 intern
Project: Wireless remote control for underwater ROVs
bd557511@ahschool.com


CA-AI Center Graduates

tountas
 
 
 

Konstantinos Tountas, Ph.D.
Senior Applied Scientist
Amazon
ktountas2017@fau.edu

 

lorente

Jose Miguel Lorente, M.Sc.
Data Analyst
Siemens
jlorente2019@fau.edu

das

Avijit Das, Ph.D
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
adas2017@fau.edu


Past Visitors

cowan

Makaylah Cowan
Undergraduate Student Researcher
Colby College, ME
NSF REU summer 2019
Project: Toward wireless controlled underwater vehicles
makaylahcowan711@gmail.com

Gallone

Ginevra Gallone, M.Sc.
Visiting M.Sc. student
August 2019-January 2020
Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Project: Detection of change by L1-norm principal-component analysis
ginevra.gallone@live.it

Verzegnassi

Enrico Verzegnassi, M.Sc.
Visiting M.Sc. student
October 2018-March 2019
Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Project: Data conformity evaluation: A novel approach for IoT security
verzegnassi.1772905@studenti.uniroma1.it

balloun

Ryan Balloun
Undergraduate Student Researcher
University or Rochester, NY
NSF REU summer 2021
Project: Design and implementation of M-FSK for a software-defined underwater acoustic modem
rballoun@u.rochester.edu

Weeks

Connor Weeks
Undergraduate Student Researcher
Knox College, IL
NSF REU summer 2018
Project: Data embedding in digital media
crweeks@knox.edu

Wilmoth

Parker Wilmoth
Undergraduate Student Researcher
The University of Texas at Tyler, TX
NSF REU summer 2021
Project: Acoustic energy harvesting for battery-less underwater IoT
pwilmoth@patriots.uttyler.edu