Recognition for Outstanding Student Achievement


Scholarship Awarded to Florida Atlantic Student on Anniversary of Flippen’s Untimely Passing
MirandaEmily Miranda
When Justin Flippen, the beloved late mayor of Wilton Manors, died unexpectedly from a brain aneurysm last year, Our Fund Foundation swiftly launched the Justin Flippen Memorial Scholarship Fund to honor his enduring legacy.

To pay a fitting tribute and offer respects on the one-year anniversary of Flippen’s untimely passing on February 25, 2020 at the age of only 41, Our Fund will award the inaugural scholarship to Emily Miranda, a Political Science major at Florida Atlantic University. As the first recipient to receive the Justin Flippen Memorial Scholarship, Miranda has a proven record of community service and political activism combined with a passion for social justice.

“Our Fund Foundation is honored to administer the Justin Flippen Memorial Fund which will help prepare future generations of leaders follow in the footsteps of Justin ’s thoughtful and passionate public service,” said David Jobin, president and CEO of Our Fund Foundation. 


Department of Political Science Student Award Winners:

  • Melinda Avila: Rafael Ampuero Memorial Scholarship
  • Daniel Camacho. Rae Raskin Memorial Scholarship in Political Science
  • Kristani DaCosta. Herman D. and Jacqueline L. Becker Award in Political Science
  • Talya Pinto. Percy and Pauline Greenberg Memorial  Endowment Award in Political Science

Office of Undergraduate Research and Inquiry (OURI) Awards:

  • Jeffrey Coltman-Cormier. OURI Grant

University-Wide Awards:

  • Jeffrey Coltman-Cormier. Stan and Renee Wimberly Scholar

External Awards:

  • Jeffrey Coltman-Cormier. NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates at the University of North Texas

National Model United Nations-DC:

Best in Committee:

  •  Angelique Ramirez
  • Vanessa Garcia
  • Jessica Birbrayer

 Position Paper:

  •  Samantha Maciel
  • Eduardo Alvarez

Undergraduate Honors Theses:

  • Alexander Bruens. "How Civilians Fare after Post-Conflict Mediation: Civil Society in Mediation and its Impact on Quality of Life"
    Thesis Advisor: Dr. Angela Nichols
  • Jeffrey Coltman-Cormier. "Civilian Victimization, Transnational Insurgency, and Walls and Fences"
    Thesis Advisor: Dr. Angela Nichols
  • Karina Cruz. "The Slavery Still Happening Today: A Legal Review and Policy Analysis of Human Trafficking in South Florida"
    Thesis Advisor: Jeffrey Morton
  • Gregory Lee. "A Comparative Case Study Exploring the Relationship Between Religion and Politics in Turkey and Iran"
    Thesis Advisor: Kristin Shockley
  • Morgan Moser. "The Impact of Education on a Culture of Violence: An Analysis of Child Soldiers in The Central African Republic and the Democratic Republic of Congo"
    Thesis Advisor: Dr. Angela Nichols

Office of Undergraduate Research and Inquiry (OURI) Awards:

  • Alexander Bruens. OURI Grant and Undergraduate Researcher of the Year

  External Awards:

  • Alexander Bruens. Florida Political Science Association Best Undergraduate Paper Award
  • Alexander Bruens. NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates at the University of North Texas 

Undergraduate Honors Theses:

  • Daniel Camacho. "A Recidivist Evaluatioin of Mandatory Minimums on Drug Offenses"
    Thesis Advisor: Dr. Marshall Derosa
  • Daniela Larez. "Voter Turnout in Municipal Elections"
    Thesis Advisor: Dr. Kevin Wagner
  • Briana Nirenberg. "Winter After the Spring: The Dormancy of Democracy in the Post-Mubarak Era"
    Thesis Advisor: Dr. Robert Rabil

Undergraduate Honors Theses:

  • Sama Kahook. 2017. "How Does Women’s Status Impact Post-Conflict Justice Onset?"
    Thesis Advisor: Dr. Angela Nichols
  • Aaron Parnas. 2017. "Capital Punishment: Does it Deter Homicide?"
    Thesis Advisor: Dr. Angela Nichols

Office of Undergraduate Research and Inquiry (OURI) Awards:

  • Sama Kahook. OURI Grant