Wallach Building

Center for Holocaust and Human Rights Education (CHHRE)

Gutterman Family Outstanding Holocaust Educator of the Year Awards

The Outstanding Holocaust Educator Award recognizes K - 12 teachers who have had a demonstrated positive impact on their schools and the wider community in the field of Holocaust, genocide and human rights education. The award was established by Arthur Gutterman for the Florida Atlantic University Center for Holocaust and Human Rights Education to honor individuals who actively, by their example and through teaching about these difficult subjects, strengthen south Florida students’ world-citizenship and capacity to uphold the dignity of all persons.


2016 Award Winners


From L to R: Sanford Lopater (John I. Leonard High School, Greenacres); Wendy Lockard (St. Jerome Catholic School, Fort Lauderdale) ); Glenda ‘Gigi’ McIntire (Mirror Lake Elementary School); Mr. Arthur Gutterman (Benefactor).


2015 Award Winners


From L to R: Amiee Sarajian (Cypress Bay High School); Mr. Arthur Gutterman (Benefactor), Ms. Linda Medvin (Center’s Interim Director); Dr. Lavinia Draper (U.B.Kinsey Palmview Elementary School of the Arts)


From L to R: Dr. Valerie Bristor (Dean of FAU’s College of Education); Linda Medvin (Interim Director of the Center); and Dr. Rose Gatens (Previous Director of the Center)

Dr. Rose Gatens’ contributions to the Center were recognized at this year’s Teacher Appreciation Dinner, and a resolution was read in her honor that the event be now called “Dr. Rose Gatens’ Teacher Appreciation Dinner.”

2014 Award Winners


L to R: Adina Baseman (Tropical Elementary School, Broward), Dr. Rose Gatens (Center's Director), Leslie Rheingold (Cypress Bay High School, Broward), Michael Klein (Olympic Heights, Palm Beach)

2013 Award Winners


L to R: Suzanne Murphy (Northeast Highschool in Oakland Park) Mr. Arthur Gutterman (Benefactor), and Carol Dixon (North Broward Academy of Excellence)

2012 Award Winners


L to R: Mr. Arthur Gutterman (Benefactor), Belkis Maderas (Oak Hammock K-8, St. Lucie), Dr. Monica Friedmann (Spanish River HS, Palm Beach), Maureen Holtzer (Palm Beach Central HS, Palm Beach)

2011 Award Winners


L to R: Toshimi Abe-Janiga (Riviera Beach Prep, Palm Beach), Lila Kimbar (Somerset Academy, Broward), Mr. Arthur Gutterman (Benefactor), Rosemelda Ibalarrosa (Omni Middle, Palm Beach), Bruce Klasner (Everglades HS, Broward).