Music Department Donors

The Department of Music is sad to announce the passing of Madelyn Savarick, a long-time friend and the underwriter of the FAU Madrigal Dinner since its inception. Madelyn was a proud supporter of our students, providing scholarships through the Michael and Madelyn Savarick Scholarship in Music Excellence, and had reserved seats in Row C for all of our departmental performances. The Department and the students and faculty in the area of Choral and Vocal Studies are greatly appreciative of her financial and personal support of our programs. Featured below is Madelyn being happily escorted by our Jester--and we will remember her smiling at so many of our concerts in just the same way.

Madrigal Dinner


Georgina Dieter Dennis Scholarship Winners 2019 

Florida Atlantic University is proud to announce the Georgina Dieter Dennis Vocal Scholarship Award, available to eligible Florida students by audition in the Department of Music. Georgina Dieter Dennis was an award-winning opera singer whose career spanned several decades. She performed with the National Opera Association, Canada’s Civic Music Light Opera Company, with the USO during World War II, and was nationally broadcasted in a number of radio shows until she moved to Florida in the 1960’s. She established her foundation in order to provide financial assistance to singers who wished to advance in their music studies, and the Georgina Dieter Dennis Foundation selected Florida Atlantic University’s vocal program as a partner in this mission. The Department of Music is honored and grateful for this generous gift that provides support for our talented vocal students.

2019 Georgina Dieter Dennis Foundation Scholarship recipients pictured above:

Front row from left: Mary Rose Gallipeau; Hannah Harris; Verlene Faust; Ron Schagrin, Georgina Dieter Dennis Foundation trustee; Jane Shagrin; Michael Miranda; Cameron Wheeler; Abigail Simpson 

Back row from left: Eerang Ahn, FAU collaborative staff; Samar Halim; Martina Da Silva; Stephanie Pankewich; Patrick Watkins

 Fara Love and scholarship recipients

Fara Love presents the Spring 2019 Jerry and Devon Love Commercial Music Scholarship to Commercial Music students Elizabeth Davidson, Carlos Marin, and Chandler Glotfelty. The endowed scholarship is in memory of her husband Jerry and daughter Devon. The Department of Music and the Commercial Music program are grateful for Fara Love's generosity and are proud to be able to assist in her vision towards building successful careers for commercial music students.

Pictured above from left: Jen Appel, Rebecca Lautar, Chair; Elizabeth Davidson; Carlos Marin; Matt Baltrucki, Assistant Professor of Music; Fara Love; Chandler Glotfelty; Alejandro Sanchez-Samper, Associate Professor of Music; Michael Zager, Eminent Scholar in Music

 Ress Family

The Department of Music in Florida Atlantic University’s Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters has received a donation from Dr. Andrew Ress and Dr. Bradford Ress to establish the Ress Family Music for Healing Endowed Fund in Memory of Elvie and Alex Ress. The donation funds FAU music students to go to patient care facilities to perform for those who are ill, providing support for them through the power of music.

“The Department of Music is grateful to the Ress Family for their creation of this fund,” said Rebecca Lautar, chair of FAU’s Department of Music. “It is important for our community that this generous gift will allow FAU’s music majors to bring the joy and relief of music to patients and their families during times of illness. Many of our student musicians have taken on this important project and are already performing in area senior centers, hospice and medical facilities. The Department of Music applauds the Ress Family for their commitment to bringing this special musical opportunity to those who need it most.”

Pictured above from left: Rebecca Lautar, Chair, Music Department, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters; Dr. Andrew Ress; Dr. Bradford Ress; Laurie Carney, Senior Director of Development, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters.

Program support

Joe Warner and his late wife Meryll provide generous support through The Sidney, Milton and Leoma Simon Foundation. Their annual donation is given as unrestricted support to meet the greatest needs of the department, including the support of FAU’s annual Jazz Band Festival.

Ross Jones provides annual support to the Classical Guitar Society by sponsoring guest artists such as Giorgio Mirto and the DUO MÖLLER-FRATICELLI.

Ellie Stern and her late husband Hank Stern continue to provide generous support for building and sustaining the Commercial Music Program since its inception in 2002. 

Florida Atlantic University Department of Music Scholarship Donors

Helene C. Alter Memorial Scholarship Fund: Scholarship for a music major in classical music performance or music education.

Marleen Forkas Endowed Scholarship for Piano Excellence: The scholarship(s) will be awarded annually to a talented American undergraduate or graduate piano performance major  who shows talent as defined by the piano faculty.  The scholarship shall be awarded for one academic year, but may be renewed if funding is available. The scholarship may be awarded to more than one student, within the Dean's discretion.

Michael and Madelyn Savarick Scholarship in Music Excellence: This scholarship is to provide a full year's tuition to a Music major based on talent and dedication to music excellence as determined by the FAU music faculty.

Zilpha Poli Friedman Endowed Music Scholarship: To provide scholarships to students majoring or minoring in music.

Jerry and Devon Love Commercial Music Scholarship Endowment: Awarded to top students selected by the Commercial Music Faculty Committee.

Eugene N. Crabb Music Scholarship Endowment: Established in 1985 in honor of retired FAU professor, Eugene Crabb.  Awarded through the Dept. of Music to undergraduate and graduate students studying any instrument. 

Richard Wright Scholarship Endowment: Established in honor of retired FAU professor, Richard Wright.

Mildred Witt Endowed Scholarship for Performing and Visual Arts: To provide scholarships in the performing and visual arts. Theater, Music and Visual Arts.

The Duprees Endowed Music Scholarship Funded by the Groskins: To provide scholarships to students majoring or minoring in music.

Dr. Richard W.J. Hayman Scholarship in Music: Awarded to a full-time music student.

Marie Iandoli Music Fund: To support the Music Department.