Initiative to Stimulate Extramural Research Funding

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2018

Congratulations to the inaugural recipients of the College of Science Initiative to Stimulate Extramural Research Funding: Internal Grants Program. A total of 23 proposals were submitted this Spring 2018 for the College’s seed funding initiative, and six were selected to receive funding. 

The committee for this initiative commends the impressive quality of the proposals and research taking place here in the College of Science. Making the selections for funding with such significant competition was challenging.

The College’s Associate Dean for Research and lead for the review committee, Dr. Warner Miller, states, “With such a healthy crop of proposals, I encourage those who were not funded during this inaugural round to incorporate comments from the committee and generate an even stronger proposal for next year.”

The review committee and secondary reviewers spent countless hours reading and assessing each proposal, sharing their time and expertise through several rounds of reviews. Science Dean, Dr. Ata Sarajedini, and Dr. Miller, would like to thank the reviewers for their dedication with this new initiative, in turn helping stimulate external research funding for the College.

Special thanks to the Spring 2018 Initiative to Stimulate Extramural Research Funding committee: Dr. Gizelle Anzures, Psychology; Dr. Predrag Cudic, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Dr. Alex Keene, Biology; Dr. Tara Root, Geosciences; Dr. Markus Schmidmeier, Mathematical Sciences; and Dr. Wolfgang Tichy, Physics.

Congratulations to the 2018 Recipients of the Initiative to Stimulate Science’s Extramural Research Funding

Dr. Rindy Anderson (PI) and Dr. Erik Noonburg (co-PI)

Dr. Tiffany Roberts Briggs (PI), Dr. Marianne Porter (co-PI), and Dr. Stephen Kajiura (co-PI)

Dr. Andrew Terentis (PI), Dr. John Strasswimmer (co-PI), Dr. Huabei Jiang (co-PI), and 
Dr. Katherine Freeman-Costin (co-PI)
Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Caiyun Zhang (PI), Dr. Hongbo Su (co-PI), and Dr. Weibo Liu (co-PI)

Dr. Robert Stackman (PI) and Dr. Sathya Puthanveettil (co-PI)

Dr. Teresa Wilcox (PI) and Dr. Erik Engeberg (co-PI)

Tags: science

Additional Information
The Charles E. Schmidt College of Science offers unparalleled experiential learning opportunities to prepare the next generation of scientists and problem solvers.
Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
Florida Atlantic University
777 Glades Rd, SE-43
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Fax: (561) 297-3292