Schmidt College of Science Celebrates Future Doctors

Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Dean Valery Forbes, Ph.D., hosted the 20th Charles E. Schmidt College of Science Future Doctors’ Reception on May 3, in the FAU Student Union, on the Boca Raton campus. College faculty and staff, along with students’ families, gathered to celebrate FAU students who have been admitted to health professional graduate programs.

“This group will be well prepared to tackle tomorrow’s challenges. These students have a strong foundation from FAU and were accepted to top health and medical programs around the nation,” said Dean Forbes. “As our country is facing critical physician shortages, our students are fulfilling a truly invaluable role which has impacts that ripple through society and the communities they will serve.”

This year, 41 members of the class of 2023 were honored at the annual reception. The signature event recognizes the achievements of Florida Atlantic’s future doctors, dentists, pharmacists, veterinarians, physician assistants, and for the first time at the event, recognized future medical physicists. Along with dinner and refreshments, guests enjoyed remarks from several members of the College’s leadership team.

“We were thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of so many talented students who began their journeys here at FAU,” said Gina Jones, Director of the Pre-Health Professions Office, Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. “Their acceptance to medical and health professional schools recognizes the countless hours of hard work and determination. We are proud of their achievements, and we wish the students every success as they embark on the next chapter of their education.”

Doctor of Medicine

  • Neal Ramim
  • Rebeca Soto Caballero
  • Tejas Purimetla
  • Pierce Herrmann
  • Varad Gharat
  • Giselle Haitz
  • Therese Clare Celocia
  • Eugenia Jean
  • Jennifer Mendonca
  • Xavier Kerby
  • Melissa Garcia - Gonzalez
  • Yohanan Bernard
  • Chetan Yarlagadda
  • Quenisha Auguste
  • John Dunn
  • Maria Torrez
  • Hermania Jean Noel
  • Jason Lee
  • David Harbaugh
  • William Blackstone
  • Nikita Bansal
  • Daniela Blanco
  • Sahar Miri
  • Shalakha Bonthu
  • Nicole Nudelman
  • Briana Nanton
  • Robert Eysler
  • Jean Pierre Bontemps
  • Nicole Mardirossian
  • Maya Khazem
  • Ashley McGill
  • Joseph Johnson

Doctor of Dental Medicine

  • Ivan Caro Cruz
  • Michelle Jaron
  • Alex Delva

Doctor of Philosophy

  • Ivan Riveros

Medical Physics Residents

  • Samaneh Rikhtehgaran
  • Panagiota Galanakou
  • Touhid Feghhi
  • Shawn String

Student Acceptance: Designated Health Professions Programs

  • A.T Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Baylor Scott & White Medical Center
  • Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Florida Atlantic University Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine
  • Florida State University College of Medicine
  • Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Kansas City University College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Loma Linda University Medical Center – Medical Physics Residency
  • Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine – Bradenton
  • LECOM School of Dental Medicine
  • Lincoln Memorial University Debusk College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology – Ph.D. in Theoretical Chemistry
  • Meharry Medical College Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry
  • Montana College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Noorda College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy
  • Nova Southeastern University’s Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Allopathic Medicine
  • Nova Southeastern University’s Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Ross University School of Medicine
  • RUSH University Medical College
  • The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
  • The New York University College of Dentistry
  • University of Central Florida College of Medicine
  • University of Illinois College of Medicine
  • University of Kansas school of Medicine
  • University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine
  • University of Pikeville - Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Vassar Brothers Medical Center
  • William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine

At the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, we have an unprecedented obligation and opportunity to provide our students and community with the highest caliber of research, scientific invention and education in the country. We invite you to support the college and choose the area you’d like to give to by  donating online here.

Tags: science

Additional Information
The Charles E. Schmidt College of Science offers unparalleled experiential learning opportunities to prepare the next generation of scientists and problem solvers.
Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
Florida Atlantic University
777 Glades Rd, SE-43
Boca Raton, FL 33431
Fax: (561) 297-3292