Research Council

To stimulate research activities and analyze research services, the Division of Research has created the DoR Research Council (DRC). This council is charged to:

  • Participate in strategic planning that affects the University’s research profile
  • Advise on the formulation, review and application of policies and procedures for university research and its funding
  • Advise on developing methods for informing University members of research opportunities, and stimulating, evaluating and rewarding research excellence
  • Be a liaison to your college and provide a forum to which faculty and students may direct research related questions
  • Participate in the review of internal limited submission competitions and other seed funding opportunities
Name Title College Email Address Telephone
Cassandra Atkin-Plunk, Ph.D. Associate Professor College of Social Work and Criminal Justice catkinplunk@fau.edu SO 44 - Room 222 561.297.3928
Laurent Cherubin, Ph.D. Associate Research Professor Harbor Branch lcherubin@fau.edu HB 50, Room 206 772.242.2314
Gulcin Gumus, Ph.D. Associate Professor College of Business ggumus@fau.edu KH 25, Room 146 561.297.2115
TBD Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
Gregory Macleod, Ph.D. Professor Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College macleodg@fau.edu MC 19, Room 212 561.799.8205
Dimitris Pados, Ph.D. Professor College of Engineeering & Computer Science dpados@fau.edu EE 96, Room 325 561.297.2988
Daniel Reyes-Guerra, Ph.D. Associate Professor College of Education dreyes@fau.edu BC 52, Room 216 954.236.1654
Alka Sapat, Ph.D. Professor Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters asapat@fau.edu SO 44, Room 301B 561.297.0443
Ruth Tappen, Ph.D. Eminent Scholar Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing rtappen@health.fau.edu NU 84, Room 307A 561.297.3188
Lawrence Toll, Ph.D. Professor College of Medicine ltoll@health.fau.edu BC 71, Room 307 561.297.2578