Research Park at FAU to Celebrate 2017 Awards

By brittany sullivan | 8/7/2017

The Research Park at Florida Atlantic University recently named the recipients of its third annual Research Park Annual Awards. The awards celebration will take place on Wednesday, Oct. 4 from 6:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. at The Addison, 2 East Camino Real, Boca Raton. Tickets cost $100 per person.

The Research Park awards recognize distinguished contributions to the Research Park’s mission to create and sustain the ideal environment for innovation and invention, maximizing the academic and entrepreneurial talent and regional resources in South Florida to accelerate economic development and prosperity.  

“The Research Park at FAU fully embraces its mission to promote scientific research at Florida Atlantic University, and to foster economic development, broadening the economic base of our community,” said Andrew Duffell, president and chief executive officer of the Research Park at FAU. “Having distinguished partners and stakeholders like this year’s honorees is gratifying and energizing. We are excited to honor them and thank them for their contribution.”

The award recipients for 2017 are:

Distinguished Researcher: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D. is currently a tenured associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences in FAU’s Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, a visiting investigator at The Scripps Research Institute-Florida, and a faculty member at the International Max Planck Research School. Dawson-Scully has created two biotech companies. One was incubated in the Technology Business Incubator® and the other at FAU Tech Runway®, bringing new innovation and possibilities to market.

Distinguished Entrepreneur: Robert S. Flippo has worked in both start-up environments as well as Fortune 500 companies over the last 16 years. Flippo has experience in forming high-performance teams and has held executive roles at high-tech companies such as Motorola, Boca Research, and Emergin, Inc. Flippo has grown Research Park-based MobileHelp from a one person venture to a sustainable company of almost 200 employees that was recently acquired by private equity company, Abry Partners.

Distinguished Leader: Jeff Atwater was elected to the Florida House of Representatives in 2000 and then to the Florida Senate in 2002 where he went on to serve as president. After leaving the Senate, Atwater successfully ran for election as the state’s chief financial officer. In that capacity he oversaw the financial affairs of the world’s 16th largest economy. Atwater recently began his new role as vice president for strategic initiatives and chief financial officer at Florida Atlantic University. Atwater’s role in diversifying Florida’s economy and positioning its finances for the future have contributed to the Research Park’s mission immensely.

Distinguished Organization: Boca Raton Airport Authority manages the Boca Raton Airport (BCT), which is a major economic engine and asset to both Boca Raton and all of South Florida. The economic impact of BCT totals $173.8 million. The U.S. Customs and Border Control building at BCT is set to open at the end of this year, enabling aircraft to clear customs at BCT without having to land at nearby airports. 

To purchase tickets to attend the event, click here. For more information about the Research Park at FAU, visit