Research Focus Areas: Brain Synapses

 
 

Institute Members

William Alexander

William Alexander

Associate Professor, Psychology, College of Science
Office: BS, 310, Boca Raton Campus
Email: walexander@fau.edu
Website
Shailaja Allani

Shailaja Allani

Associate Scientist, Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Science
Director, Center for Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
Office: MC-17, Room 202, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8322
Email: skesaraj@fau.edu
Website
Rindy Anderson

Rindy Anderson

Associate Professor, Biological Sciences, College of Science
Office: BC-90, Room 336, Davie Campus
Phone: 954.236.1144 (Davie), 561.297.4681 (Boca)
Email: andersonr@fau.edu
Website
Gizelle Anzures

Gizelle Anzures, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Psychology, College of Science
Office: BS-12, Room 206, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.3368
Email: ganzures@.fau.edu
Website
Nicole Baganz, Ph.D.

Nicole Baganz, Ph.D.

Assistant Director and Director of Community Engagement and Programming, FAU Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Research Assistant Professor, Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine
Office: MC-22, Room 201A, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8559
Email: nbaganz@health.fau.edu
Website
Elan Barenholtz

Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Psychology and Center for Complex Systems and Brain Sciences, College of Science
Office: BS-12, Room 101, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.3433
Email: ebarenho@fau.edu
Website
Lilah Besser

Lilah M. Besser, PhD, MSPH

Assistant Professor, School of Urban and Regional Planning, Institute for Human Health and Disease Intervention
Office: SO-284H, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0614
Email: lbesser@fau.edu
Randy Blakely

Randy D. Blakely, Ph.D.

Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Executive Director, FAU Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Office: MC-22, Room 201G, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8100
Email: rblakely@health.fau.edu
Website
Lucia Carvelli

Lucia Carvelli, Ph.D.

Associate Professor: Neuroscience, Honors College
Office: MC-22, Room 216H, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8115
Email: lcarvelli@fau.edu
Website
Lun-Ching Chang

Lun-Ching Chang

Associate Professor, Mathematics, College of Science
Office: SE43, Room 222, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.3351
Email: changl@fau.edu
Website
David Cinalli, Ph.D.

David Cinalli, Ph.D.

Assistant Director of Community Engagement and Programming, Director of Mobile Minds Program
Office: MC-22, Room 201C, Jupiter Campus
Email: dcinalli2013@fau.edu
Andrea Cippitelli, Ph.D.

Andrea Cippitelli, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: MC-22, Room 204
Email: acippitelli@health.fau.edu
Website
Mare Cudic

Maré Cudic, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Associate Dean for Research, College of Science
Office: Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.4645
Email: mcudic@fau.edu
Website
Predrag Cudic

Predrag Cudic, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Associate Dean for Research, College of Science
Office: MC-17, Room 208, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8375
Email: pcudic@fau.edu
Website
Ali A. Danesh

Ali A. Danesh, Ph.D., FAAA

Professor, Director of Audiology Clinic, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Education
Professor of Integrated Medical Science, College of Medicine
Office: ED-47, Room 434, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.2071
Email: danesh@health.fau.edu
Website
Kevin Darby, Ph.D.

Kevin Darby, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Psychology, College of Science
Office: BS-12, Room 211, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.6033
Email: darbyk@fau.edu
Website
Michael A. DeDonno

Michael A. DeDonno Ph.D.

Professor, Educational Leadership, College of Education
Integrated Medical Science (Secondary)
Office: Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.3554
Email: mdedonno@health.fau.edu
Website
Deguo Du

Deguo Du, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Science
Office: PS-55, Room 301G, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0094
Email: ddu@fau.edu
Website
Erik Duboue, Ph.D

Erik Duboue, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Wilkes Honors College
Office: RE, Room 205
Phone: 561-799.8069
Email: eduboue@fau.edu
Website
Julie Earles

Julie Earles, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology, Wilkes Honors College
Office: PSR 203, Jupiter campus
Phone: 561.799.8612
Email: jearles@fau.edu
Website
Erik Engeberg

Erik D. Engeberg, Ph.D.

Professor, Ocean and Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering & Computer Science
Office: 36, Room 178, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0537
Email: eengeberg@fau.edu
Website
Cristina Fenollar Ferrer

Cristina Fenollar Ferrer, Ph.D.

Associate Research Professor, Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Office: MC-22, Room 305, Jupiter Campus
Email: mfenollarferrer@fau.edu
Gregg Fields

Gregg Fields, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Science
Executive Director, I-HEALTH
interim Vice President for Research
Office: MC-17, Room 211, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8577
Email: fieldsg@fau.edu
Website
Laura Fontenas, Ph.D.

Laura Fontenas, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences, College of Science
Office: MC-19, Room 202, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8053
Email: lfontenas@fau.edu
Website
Chad Forbes, Ph.D.,

Chad Forbes, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Psychology
Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
Associate Director, FAU Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Office: BS, Room 101, Boca Campus
Phone: 561.297.3373
Email: forbesc@fau.edu
Website
Paula Gajewski-Kurdziel, Ph.D.

Paula Gajewski-Kurdziel, Ph.D.

Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Office: MC-22, Rm 216, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561-799-8591
Email: pgajewski@health.fau.edu
Behnaz Ghoraani

Behnaz Ghoraani, Ph.D., SMIEEE

Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Engineering and Computer Science
Office: EE-96, Room 319, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.4031
Email: bghoraani@fau.edu
Website
Tanja Godenschwege

Tanja A. Godenschwege, Ph.D.

Professor, Biological Sciences, College of Science
Office: MC-19, Room 209, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.297.1390
Email: godensch@fau.edu
Website
Patrick Grant

Patrick Grant, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Room 313, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.1053
Email: grantp@health.fau.edu
Website
Wendy Guastaferro

Wendy P. Guastaferro, Ph.D.

Professor and Director, School of Criminology & Criminal Justice
Office: SO210, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0428
Email: wguastaferro@fau.edu
Website
Kathleen Guthrie

Kathleen Guthrie, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Assistant Director for Graduate Education, FAU Stiles-Nicolson Brain Institute
Office: BC-71, Room 208, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0457
Email: kguthrie@health.fau.edu
Website
Maureen Hahn

Maureen Hahn, Ph.D.

Neurobehavior Core Scientific Director
Research Associate Professor, College of Medicine
Office: MC-22, Room 216J, John D. MacArthur Campus, Jupiter
Phone: 561.799.8491
Email: hahnm@health.fau.edu
William Hahn, Ph.D.

William Hahn, Ph.D.

Research Associate, Center for Complex Systems and Brain Sciences
Office: BS-12, Room 405, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.2231
Email: whahn@fau.edu
Jason Hallstrom

Jason Hallstrom, Ph.D.

Professor and Director of I-SENSE, Department of Computer and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: EE-96, Room 324, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.4748
Email: jhallstrom@fau.edu
Website
Sang Hong

Sang Hong, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology, College of Science
Office: BS-12, Room 209, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.2905
Email: shong6@fau.edu
Website
Heather Howard

Heather Howard, MSW, Ph.D., LCSW

Associate Professor, College of Social Work and Criminal Justice
Phone: 561.297.3969
Email: howardh@fau.edu
Website
Ceylan Isgor

Ceylan Isgor, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Room 323, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0712
Email: cisgor@health.fau.edu
Website
Hideki Iwamato

Hideki Iwamato, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor of Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: MC-22, Rm 216F, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561-799-8591
Email: hiwamoto@health.fau.edu
Website
Kailiang Jia

Kailiang Jia, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biological Sciences, College of Science
Offices: SC-1, Room 261, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.799.8054
Email: kjia@fau.edu
Website
Nancy Aaron Jones

Nancy Aaron Jones, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychology, College of Science
Office: MC-13, Room 215, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8632
Email: njones@fau.edu
Website
Yunqing (Kevin) Kang

Yunqing (Kevin) Kang

Associate Professor, Ocean and Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering and Computer Science
Office: EW 177, Boca Raton Campus
Email: kangy@fau.edu
Website
Marc Kantorow

Marc Kantorow, Ph.D.

Professor, Biomedical Science
Assistant Dean for Graduate Programs, College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Room 207, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.2910
Email: mkantoro@health.fau.edu
Website
Scott Kelso

J.A. Scott Kelso, Ph.D.

Glenwood and Martha Creech Eminent Scholar in Science and Center for Complex Systems and Brain Sciences
Office: BS-12, Room 411, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.2229
Email: kelso@ccs.fau.edu
Website
Alan Kersten

Alan Kersten, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Department of Psychology, College of Science
Office: Behavioral Science Room 203, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.3382
Email: akersten@fau.edu
Website
Andy V. Khamoui

Andy V. Khamoui, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Exercise Science and Health Promotion
Office: Field House Labs FW11A-128, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.4450
Email: akhamoui@fau.edu
Website
Ania Knapinska, Ph.D.

Ania Knapinska, Ph.D.

Research Professor, Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Office: MC-17, Rm 107, Jupiter Campus
Phone:
Email: aknapins@fau.edu
Cheryl Krause-Parello

Cheryl Krause-Parello, Ph.D., RN, FAAN

Professor, College of Nursing
Faculty Fellow, (I-HEALTH)
Director, Canines Providing Assistance to Wounded Warriors (C-P.A.W.W.)
Office: Boca Campus
Phone: 561.297.0055
Email: ckrausep@health.fau.edu
Website
Gregory Macleod

Gregory Macleod, Ph.D.

Professor, Wilkes Honors College
Office: MC-19, Room 212, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8205
Email: macleodg@fau.edu
Website
Krista A. McCoy, Ph.D

Krista A. McCoy, Ph.D

Research Associate Professor, Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute
Office:Marine Science Lab One; Room 220
Lab: Marine Science Lab One; Room 217
Phone: 772-242-2253
Email: mccoyk@fau.edu
Sarah Milton

Sarah Milton, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Biological Sciences, College of Science
Office: SC-1, Room 288, Boca Raton campus
Phone: 561.297.3327
Email: smilton@fau.edu
Website
Lindsay Montgomery

Lindsay Montgomery, Ph.D.

Operations and Budget Coordinator, Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Office: MC-22, Room 201F, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8662
Email: lmontgomery@fau.edu
Rodney Murphey

Rodney Murphey, Ph.D.

Professor, Biological Sciences, College of Science
Office: MC-19, Room 101, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.297.0384
Email: rmurphey@fau.edu
Website
Lillian Onwahu-Ekpete, Ph.D.

Lillian Onwahu-Ekpete, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor
Institute for Human Health and Disease Intervention Office: MC-17, Rm 104, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561-799-8140
Email: lonwuhae@fau.edu
Akihito Ozawa, Ph.D.

Akihito Ozawa, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Phone: MC-22, Room 205A
Email: aozawa@health.fau.edu
Website
Alexandra Paz

Alexandra Paz, Ph.D.

Assistant to the Director of Community Engagement and Programming
Office: 
Phone: 
Email: paza2018@fau.edu
Ramin Pashaie

Ramin Pashaie, Ph.D.

Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Engineering and Computer Science
Computer & Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department
Office: EE, 317, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.1041
Email: rpashaie@fau.edu
Paul Peulso

Paul Peluso, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor, Department of Counselor Education
Office: ED 466 
Phone: 561.297.3625
Email: ppeluso@fau.edu
Website
Rodrigo de Oliveira Pena

Rodrigo de Oliveira Pena, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Biological Sciences
Office: MC-19, Room 109, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8514
Email: penar@fau.edu
Website
Linda Petersen

Linda Petersen

Neuroscience Graduate Program Coordinator
Office: Bldg. SE 43, Room 103A
Phone: 561.297.4989
Email: lpetersen@fau.edu
Website
Gala M. Pierce, M.S.

Gala M. Pierce, M.S.

Associate Director of Administrative Operations, FAU Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Office: MC-22, Room 201H, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8046 (ext. 6-8046)
Email: pierceg@fau.edu
Julie Pilitsis, Ph.D., MD, MBA

Julie Pilitsis, Ph.D., MD, MBA

Vice President of Medical Affairs and Strategic Initiatives
Professor of Integrated Medical Science
Office: Boca Raton Campus
Phone:
Email: jpilitsis@health.fau.edu
Beth A. Pratt, Ph.D., RN

Beth A. Pratt, Ph.D., RN

Assistant Professor
Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing
Associate Director, C-P.A.W.W. Office: Davie Campus
Phone: 954-236-1131
Email: bpratt4@health.fau.edu
Website
Howard Prentice

Howard Prentice, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Room 139, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0362
Email: hprentic@fau.edu
Website
Ning Quan

Ning Quan, Ph.D.

Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: MC-22, Rm 216G, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8100
Email: nquan@health.fau.edu
Website
Mahsa Ranji, Ph.D.

Mahsa Ranji, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and I-SENSE Fellow
Department of Computer and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Office: EE, 325, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0089
Email: mranji@fau.edu
Claudia Rodrigues, Ph.D.

Claudia Rodrigues, Ph.D.

Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Rm 224, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561-297-2984
Email: crodrigues@health.fau.edu
Monica Rosselli

Monica Rosselli, Ph.D.

Professor and Assistant Chair, Psychology, College of Science
Office: E&S, Room 268A, Davie Campus
Phone: 954.236.1108
Email: mrossell@fau.edu
Website
Adam Schaefer

Adam Schaefer, M.P.H.

Principal Investigator and Epidemiologist
Office: 5600 US 1 North, Ft. Pierce
Phone: 772.242.2311
Email: aschaef3@fau.edu
Website
Susan Schneider, Ph.D.

Susan Schneider, Ph.D.

Director, Center For the Future Mind, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters
Office:SO 283, Boca Raton Campus
Phone:561-297-3878
Email: sschneider@fau.edu
Website
Wen Shen

Wen Shen, Ph.D.

Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Room 229, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0628
Email: wshen@health.fau.edu
Website
Summer Sheremata

Summer Sheremata, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Psychology, College of Science
Office: BS-12, Room 207, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.3362
Email: ssheremata@fau.edu
Website
Robert Stackman

Robert Stackman, Ph.D.

Dean, Graduate College
Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Science
Office: MC-19, Room 110, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.297.4358
Email: rstackma@fau.edu
Website
Maciej Stawikowski

Maciej Stawikowski, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Office:Boca Raton Campus
Phone: (561)297-4871
Email: mstawikowski@fau.edu
Website
Adele Stewart

Adele Stewart, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor
College of Medicine
Biomedical Science
Office: MC-22, Room 216, Jupiter Campus
Email: stuarta@health.fau.edu
Jana Strickler

Jana Strickler

Advanced Cell Imaging Core Managing Director, Stiles-Nicholson Brain Institute
Office:MC-22, Rm 205B, Jupiter campus
Phone: 561.799.3321
Email: jboerner@fau.edu
Website
Rui Tao

Rui Tao, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Room 327, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0713
Email: rtao@health.fau.edu 
Website
Ruth Tappen

Ruth Tappen, EdD, RN, FAAN

Professor and Christine E. Lynn Eminent Scholar, College of Nursing
Office: AZ-79, Room 119, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.3188
Email: rtappen@fau.edu
Website
Ilknur Telkes, Ph.D.

Ilknur Telkes, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Biomedical, College of Medicine
Center for SMART Health Investigator
Office: BC-71, Room 209, Boca Campus
Phone: 561.297.2278
Email: itelkes@health.fau.edu
Website
Carol Tessel

Carol Tessel, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

Assistant Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders 
Office: 47 - ED 449, Boca Raton Campus
Phone:
 561.297.1138
Email: ctessel@fau.edu
Website
Lawrence Toll, Ph.D

Lawrence Toll, Ph.D.

Professor of Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: MC-22, Room 215J, Boca Raton Campus
Email: ltoll@health.fau.edu
Website
Henriette Van Praag

Henriette van Praag

Associate Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: MC-22, Room 215G, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8689
Email: hvanpraag@health.fau.edu
vanPraagLab@fau.edu
 
Website
Laura Vernon

Laura Vernon, Ph.D.

Professor, Wilkes Honors College
Office: MC-19, Room 109, Jupiter campus
Phone: 561.799.8411 
Email: lvernon@fau.edu 
Website
Robert Vertes

Robert Vertes, Ph.D.

Professor, Psychology and Center for Complex Systems and Brain Sciences, College of Science
Office: BS-12, Room 329, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.2362
Email: rvertes@fau.edu
Website
Yunqing (Kevin) Kang

Hongjie Wang

Assistant Research Professor, Institute for Human Health & Disease Intervention, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Office: MC-17, Jupiter Campus
Email: wangh@fau.edu
Website
Jenny Wei

Jianning (Jenny) Wei, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Room 210, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0002
Email: jwei@health.fau.edu
Website
Herbert Weissbach

Herbert Weissbach, Ph.D.

Distinguished Research Professor, Biological Sciences, College of Science
Office: MC-17, Room 225, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8345
Email: hweissba@fau.edu
Website
Teresa Wilcox

Teresa Wilcox, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Science
Office: BS-12, Room 101B, Boca Campus
Email: wilcox@fau.edu
Website
Dale Williams

Dale Williams, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Education
Office: ED-23, Room 427, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561-297-3238
Email: dwilliam@fau.edu
Website
Amy Wright

Amy Wright, Ph.D.

Research Professor, Marine Biomedical and Biotechnology Research, HBOI
Office: HB-01, Room 236, Harbor Branch Campus
Phone: 772.242.2459
Email: awright33@fau.edu
Website
John Wu

Jang-Yen (John) Wu, Ph.D.

Professor, Biomedical Science, College of Medicine
Office: BC-71, Room 241, Boca Raton Campus
Phone: 561.297.0167
Email: jwu@health.fau.edu
Website
Ilyas Yildirim

Ilyas Yildirim, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Science
Office: MC-17, 224, Jupiter Campus
Email: iyildirim@fau.edu
Website
Qi Zhang, Ph.D.

Qi Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Advanced Cell Imaging Core Scientific Director
Office: MC-22, Room 303, Jupiter Campus
Phone: 561.799.8575
Emailzhangq@health.fau.edu
Website