MEDIA CONTACT: Kristine M. Gobbo

Saunders Selected FAU’s Sixth President

BOCA RATON, FL (March 3, 2010) – Mary Jane Saunders, Ph.D., was selected today as Florida Atlantic University’s sixth president by the university’s 13-member Board of Trustees.

“What a wonderful day for FAU,” said Board of Trustees Chair Nancy Blosser. “We are extremely fortunate to have MJ Saunders leading FAU through what will undoubtedly be an extraordinary time in the university’s history. MJ’s track record of being an effective and productive leader will help to ensure the university’s growth and success.”

Saunders has been the provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at Cleveland State University (CSU). She was named interim provost in 2006 and provost in 2007.

“I am humbled and thrilled to be selected as the next president of FAU,” said Saunders. “It is such an honor to have the opportunity to lead the university to its next level of excellence, accomplishing great things together with the university community.”

Saunders joined CSU in 2003 as director of the Biomedical Health Institute and a professor in the department of biological, geological and environmental sciences. She was founding dean of the College of Science, CSU’s second largest college. Prior to arriving at CSU, Saunders was a program officer and deputy division director at the National Science Foundation, director of the Institute of Biomolecular Science at the University of South Florida and an assistant professor in the botany department at Louisiana State University.

Saunders received her Ph.D. in botany from the University of Massachusetts, and she did postdoctoral work at the University of Georgia. She received her master’s degree from the University of Massachusetts and bachelor’s degree from Boston University.

Saunders succeeds former FAU President Frank T. Brogan, who was named chancellor of Florida’s State University System.

- FAU -

About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit



Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 11/8/16