Faculty Assembly

2019-2020 Meeting Schedule

Faculty Assembly Meetings

All Faculty Assembly meetings will take place in Room 313, COE, Boca Raton Campus, with teleconferences on the Davie Campus and the Jupiter Campus to be announced.

The FA meeting dates (all 10 a.m. - 12 p.m., teleconferenced to all three campuses):

  • Friday, Sept. 20th
  • Friday, Nov. 1st
  • Friday, Jan. 24th
  • Friday, April 10th

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee Representatives

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee Dates

(all 10 a.m. - 12 p.m., except where noted; not teleconferenced, but reps may join in by phone conference):

All FASC meetings will take place in the Dean’s Conference Room, Boca Raton Campus

  • Friday, Sept. 6th (9:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. and FA Executive Committee meeting with the Dean from 11:30 a.m.- 12:30 p.m.)
  • Friday, Oct. 25th
  • Friday, Jan. 10th
  • Friday, April 3rd

Faculty Assembly Executive Committee (FAEC)

  • Meredith Mountford, President
  • Michael Frain, Vice President
  • Carol A. Tessel, Secretary
  • Katie Miller, Archivist

The Faculty Assembly Executive Committee will meet with Dean Stephen Silverman directly following the FASC meetings, 12 p.m. -1 p.m., except where noted.


The higher education Faculty of the College of Education is a community of scholars dedicated to the concept that policy making within a college be decentralized to the faculty level. The intent is that policy in the College of Education shall be made in a collegial fashion by the Dean and the Faculty Assembly working cooperatively.

The Assembly is committed to the following governing principles:

  1. Academic freedom. [1]
  2. Open democratic communication and participation.
  3. Sustaining and creating opportunities for faculty voice in all aspects of the College of Education governance.
  4. Commitment to a professional ethic that supports multiple/ alternative perspectives.

All full-time members of the higher education faculty of the College who hold tenure or all members who have tenure-earning positions, are voting members except those on leave of absence, sabbatical, or medical leave. This includes chairs, associate deans and deans who hold tenured or tenure-earning positions.

Faculty Assembly Steering Committee Motion Matrix Form