Institute Neuroscience Student Organization NSO Scholars

Moaed Abd

Moaed Abd

Mechanical Engineering
Mentor: Erik Engeberg, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Bio Robotics Development & Applications
mabd2015@fau.edu
Craig Ades

Craig Ades

Mechanical Engineering
Mentor: Erik Engeberg, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Exoskeleton for Tubular Shape Memory Alloy Finger with Internal Cooling and a Super Elastic Spring Return
cades@fau.edu
Carina Arnold

Carina Arnold

IMPRS/Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Randy Blakely, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Impact of altered phosphorylation in the presynaptic serotonin transporter (SERT) on synaptic signaling and risk for mental illness.
carnold2019@fau.edu
Fernanda Arruda

Fernanda Arruda

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Monica Roselli, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Mild cognitive impairment and dementia
farruda2016@fau.edu

 

Kerriann Badal

Kerriann Badal

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Dr. Sathya Puthanveetil
Thesis topic: Identifying modifications in Aplysia californica axonal transport during learning and memory.
kbadal2@fau.edu

 

Subash Bhandari

Subash Bhandari

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Jang-Yen Wu, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
sbhanda1@fau.edu
Jasmine Chan

Jasmine Chan

Position: Secretary of Neuroscience Student Organization
Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Teresa Wilcox, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Consumer Decision Making
chanj2018@fau.edu
David Cinalli

David Cinalli

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Learning and Memory/Behavioral neuroscience
dcinalli2013@fau.edu
Kori Citrin

Kori Citrin

GNTP/ MPFI Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Yingxue Wang, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
kcitrin2019@fau.edu
James A. Clark

James A. Clark

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neural Networks and Image identification and classification in the Machine Perception and Cognitive Robotics
jamesclark2016@fau.edu
Bryan Conklin

Bryan Conklin

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: In search of an objective measure of visual working memory
bconkli4@fau.edu
Joshua Conniff

Joshua Conniff

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Monica Rosselli, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Investigations of distractor strength on attentional processing
jconniff@fau.edu
Debarshi Datta

Debarshi Datta

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Howard Hock, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Object recognition
ddatta2014@fau.edu
Brian Escobar

Brian Escobar

GNTP/Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Sang Wook Hong, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
bescobar2018@fau.edu
Eli Fennell

Eli Fennell

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robin, Vallacher, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
efennel3@fau.edu
Michael Fortin

Michael Fortin

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robin Vallacher, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
mfortin1@fau.edu
Ryan Gallagher

Ryan Gallagher

GNTP/Complex Systems and Brain Sciences
Mentor: William Alexander, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
gallagherr2016@fau.edu
Ian Gaudet

Ian Gaudet

Bioengineering
Mentor: Ian Gaudet, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Synaptic vesicles as regulators of network transport protocols in neuroplasticity
igaudet2017@fau.edu
Aritra Ghosh

Aritra Ghosh

Computer Science
Mentor: Shihong Huang, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Self-adaptive System with Human-in-the loop
aghosh2016@fau.edu
Ingo Gotthard

Ingo Gotthard

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuronal circuit impairments in autism mouse model
Ingo.gotthard@mpfi.org
Ingo Gotthard

Ingo Gotthard

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Neuronal circuit impairments in autism mouse model
Ingo.gotthard@mpfi.org
Madeleine Hagood

Madeleine Hagood

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: TBD
Thesis topic: TBD
mhagood2018@fau.edu
Ji Heon Han

Ji Heon Han (John)

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: TBD
Thesis topic: TBD
jhan2020@fau.edu
Brandon Hindman

Brandon Hindman

Position: Treasurer of Neuroscience Student Organization
Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Novel object memory, Dopamine, Behavioral Neuroscience
bhindman2017@fau.edu
Donald Holder

Donald Holder

GNTP/ MPFI Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Ryohei Yasuda, Ph.D.
TBD
dholder2019@fau.edu
Timothy Holford

Timothy Holford

IMPRS/Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: McLean Bolton, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: The role of interneurons in autism spectrum disorders
holfordt2014@fau.edu
Murtadha Hssayeni

Murtadha Hssayeni

Computer Engineering
Mentor: Behnaz Ghoraani, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Data Analytics for In-home Management Systems for Patients with Neurodegenerative Diseases
mhssayeni2017@fau.edu
Karlis (KJ )Justs

Karlis (KJ) Justs

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Gregory Macleod, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Synaptic transmission
kjusts@fau.edu
Thomas Kent

Thomas Kent

Chemistry
Mentor: Deguo Du, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Elucidating the Mechanism of Interactions Between Membrane Mimetics and Beta-Amyloid
Kentt2015@fau.edu
Basak Kocaoglu

Basak Kocaoglu

GNTP/Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: William Alexander, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
bkocaoglu2018@fau.edu
Sarah Kruessel

Sarah Kruessel

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Hyungbae Kwon, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
skrussel2017@fau.edu
Evan Lloyd

Evan Lloyd

Integrative Biology
Mentor: TBD
Thesis topic: TBD
elloyd2015@fau.edu
Juan Lopez

Juan Lopez

MPFI / Integrative Biology
Mentor: David Fitzpatrick, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
juanlopez2016@fau.edu
Kenton Macdowell

Kenton Macdowell

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Functional brain networks for processing emotional content, and how they differ between clinically normal individuals and those with deficits in emotional processing.
Kmacdowell2013@fau.edu
Maykah Marshall

Maykah Marshall

Bioengineering
Mentor: Zvi Roth, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Robotics
mmarsh20@fau.edu
Richard Matic

Richard Matic

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Andrzej Nowak, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: A Computer Simulation of Human Personality with Inputs of Psychometric Data from Computer Analysis of Digital Sources.
rmatic2018@fau.edu
Aaron McFarlane

Aaron McFarlane

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Gregg Fields, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
mcfarlanea2013@fau.edu

 

Joseph McKinley

Joseph McKinley

Physics
Mentor: TBD
Thesis topic: TBD
jmckinley2015@fau.edu

 

Neymi Mignocchi

Neymi Mignocchi

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Hyungbae Kwon, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Labeling oxytocin sensitive neuronal populations of social rewarding pathways
nmignocchi2014@fau.edu
Akshay Naraine

Akshay Naraine

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: The effect of oxidative stress on Drosophila neuromuscular junctions
narainea2018@fau.edu
Aleksandra Nedovic

Aleksandra Nedovic

Chemistry
Mentor: Predrag Cudic, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Discovery of novel peptide based opioid antagonists suitable for intranasal delivery to the brain
anedovic2019@fau.edu
Asal Nouri

Asal Nouri

Position: President of Neuroscience Student Organization
GNTP / Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Edward Ester, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
anouri2015@fau.edu
Goksu Oz

Goksu Oz

GNTP/ MPFI Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Ryohei Yasuda, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
goz2017@fau.edu
Justin Palermo

Justin Palermo

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Alex Keene, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
jpalermo2018@fau.edu
Alexandra Paz

Alexandra Paz

GNTP/Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Johanna Kowalko, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
paza2018@fau.edu
Sean Paz

Sean Paz

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Biomedical Science
Mentor: Massimo Caputi, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Identifying the mechanism(s) through which SRSF1 acts as a transcriptional activator
spaz@fau.edu
Amanda Rainey

Amanda Rainey

GNTP/Integrative Biology
Mentor: Larry Toll, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
arainey2016@fau.edu
Subhosit Ray

Subhosit Ray

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: TBD
Thesis topic: TBD
rays2016@fau.edu
Tahereh Rezaei

Tahereh Rezaei

Physics
Mentor: TBD
Thesis topic: TBD
trezaei2016@fau.edu
Claire Rice

Claire Rice

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Robert Stackman, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Learning & Memory
ckuchera@fau.edu
Peter Rodriguez

Peter Rodriguez

Position: Vice President of Neuroscience Student Organization
Integrative Biology
Mentor: Randy Blakely, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Glial regulation of dopamine neuron viability and signaling in Caenorhabditis elegans
prodri29@health.fau.edu
Amanda Rojas

Amanda Rojas

GNTP/Complex Systems and Brain Sciences
Mentor: Robert Vertes Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
arojas2016@fau.edu
Darwin Romulus

Darwin Romulus

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Steven Bressler, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Eye movements and face processing in the context of familiarity
dromulus2016@fau.edu
Paul Scarpinato

Paul Scarpinato

Position: Membership Coordinator of Neuroscience Student Organization
Integrative Biology
Mentor: Ken Dawson-Scully, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
pscarpinato@fau.edu
Youngseon Shin

Youngseon Shin

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Summer Sheremata, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Individual difference in working memory capacity and how it leads to different processes.
yshin2016@fau.edu
Morgan Slevin

Morgan Slevin

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Rindy Anderson, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: TBD
mslevin2018@fau.edu
Rachel St. Clair

Rachel St. Clair

GNTP/Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
Rstclair2012@fau.edu
Emily Stark

Emily Stark

Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Elan Barenholtz, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Deep Learning Applications in Robotic Olfaction
Estark2017@fau.edu
Samantha Stilley

Samantha Stilley

Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Randy Blakely, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Functional impact of coding variation in the human serotonin transporter (SERT), as modeled in SERT KI mice
sstilley@fau.edu

 

Jacqueline Stotler

Jacqueline Stotler

Position: Community Relations Officer of Neuroscience Student Organization
Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Teresa Wilcox, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Infant perception and evaluation of social versus mechanical entities
stotlerj2016@fau.edu

 

Clara Tepohl

Clara Tepohl

IMPRS/Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: David Fitzpatrick, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Synaptic basis of binocular integration
ctepohl2018@fau.edu
Michael Teti

Michael Teti

Complex Systems & Brain Sciences
Mentor: TBD
Thesis topic: TBD
mteti@fau.edu
Zidan Yang

Zidan Yang

IMPRS/Integrative Biology with a Concentration in Neuroscience
Mentor: Hidehiko Inagaki, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
zyang2019@fau.edu
Ori Yarden

Ori Yarden

Psychology
Mentor: Carmen Varelai, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: TBD
oyarden2017@fau.edu
Yosun Yoon

Yosun Yoon

GNTP/Experimental Psychology
Mentor: Sang Wook Hong, Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: TBD.
yyoon2018@fau.edu
Ke Zhang

Ke Zhang

Integrative Biology
Mentor: Jason Christie, Ph.D.
Thesis topic: Learning and memory
kzhang2016@fau.edu