Story Title Here


From left, Jason Hallstrom, Ph.D., Salvatore Lepore, Ph.D., Shirely Pomponi, Ph.D. and Henriette van Praag, Ph.D.

FAU Inventors Recognized

NAI Inducts Four New Members

Four faculty members were recently selected for induction into the FAU Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors. The chapter is one of more than 50 university chapters nationwide, established to recognize inventors for their accomplishments in research and commercialization, and to enhance the visibility of scientific innovation.

This year’s inductees include:

  • Jason Hallstrom, Ph.D., director of the Institute for Sensing and Embedded Network Systems Engineering and professor in the College of Engineering & Computer Science
  • Salvatore Lepore, Ph.D., professor in the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
  • Shirley Pomponi, Ph.D., research professor in the FAU Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute
  • Henriette van Praag, Ph.D., associate professor, Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine

Each will be publicly recognized by Daniel Flynn, Ph.D., Vice President for Research, and Dana Vouglitois, J.D., assistant director, Office of Technology Development, at a future Division of Research event.

If you would like more information, please contact us at