Distinguished Mentor of the Year Award

Faculty who serve as model mentors to their undergraduate research students are eligible to receive the Distinguished Mentor of the Year: Excellence in Undergraduate Research and Inquiry award.  Each year, one university-wide award is given based on undergraduate research engagement in the previous year. The Distinguished Mentor of the Year (DMOY) will be recognized with a $2,500 award at the annual Honors Convocation.  

Eligibility 

  • Any permanent, full-time faculty including tenured/tenure track faculty, non-tenured faculty, instructors, multi-year appointees, scientist/scholars, and research faculty who have been employed for one continuous year.
  • Faculty must have engaged as direct mentors of students in undergraduate research and inquiry, to include co-curricular (e.g grants, publications, presentations), curricular (e.g. RI Courses, DIR and DIS), as well as individual and group student mentoring.
  • Previous award winners are no longer eligible.

Timeline

  • January 24th, 2022         Call for faculty applications/nominations
  • February 9th, 2022          Complete applications due to the Deans/Directors office
  • February 23rd, 2022        Deans submit College nominee and application materials to OURI
  • February 24th 2022         Faculty Honors and Awards committee begin review
  • April 13th, 2022                Award presented at the Honors Convocation

Contact information for College Submission

Faculty interested in applying for College consideration should send complete DMOY application packages to the following College contacts by Feb 9th :

  • Arts and Letters:   
 Ms. Taina Teran:   TTERAN@fau.edu
  • Business:
Ms. Ginger Hale:   vhale4@fau.edu 
  • Education:
 Mrs. Josephine Elliott:   jelliot@fau.edu
  • Engineering:
Dr. Shihong Huang:   shihong@fau.edu
  • Honors:
Mrs. Sandra Ogden:   sogden@fau.edu
  • Medicine:
  Dr. Joanna Drowos:   jdrowos@health.fau.edu
  • Nursing:
Ms. Bernadette Bastien:   bastienb@health.fau.edu
  • Science:
 Dr. Predrag Cudic:   pcudic@fau.edu
  • Social Work and Criminal Justice:   
Dr. Vaughn Crichlow:   vcrichlow@fau.edu

 

Further Information

Complete details and guidelines for the DMOY award can be found here

Previous Distinguished Mentor of the Year Winners

2021      James H. VanZwieten Jr., Ph.D. College of Engineering and Computer Science

2020      Monica Escaleras, Ph.D. College of Business

2019      Myeongsub Kim, Ph.D. College of Engineering and Computer Science

2018     Julie L. Earles, Ph.D. Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College

2017      Tobin Hindle, Ph.D. Charles E. Schmidt College of Science

2016     Daniel de Lill, Ph.D. Charles E. Schmidt College of Science 

2015     Daniel Meeroff, Ph.D. College of Engineering and Computer Science

2022 Distinguished Mentor of the Year Awardee: 

Dr. Keith Jakee

Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College

Keith Jakee

 

2022 Distinguished Mentor of the Year Finalists: 

 

 

 

 Last Modified 6/24/22