Other Short News

New students joining the IMPRS Ph.D. Program in 2017:
Sun (Molly) Tu (B.S., Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China)
Tim Holford (B.S., College of Charleston, SC)
New students joining the IBNS Ph.D. Program in 2017:
Sarah Kruessel (B.S., Westphalian University of Applied Sciences, Recklinghausen, Germany) 
Serena Sossi (B.S., Palm Beach Atlantic University) 

Dr. Brenda Claiborne won "Outstanding College of Science Faculty of the Year Award" and Dr. Catherine Trivigno won "Outstanding Adjunct or Visiting Faculty of the Year Award" at the FAU Northern Campus Award Ceremony, April 2017. 

Students that joined the IMPRS Ph.D. Program in 2016:
Monica Risley (M.S., FAU) 
Ke Zhang (M.D., Shandong University Jinan, China)
Student that joined the IBNS Ph.D. Program in 2016:
Neymi Mignocchi (M.S., Nova Southeastern University)

Dr. Ken Dawson-Scully won "Outstanding Faculty Award" at the FAU Northern Campus Achievement Award Ceremony, April 2016.

“Sounds like a winner: What birdsong, the human voice and politics teach us about vocal communication systems" . The IB Retreat Keynote Lecture was presented by Drs. Rindy Anderson (Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences, FAU) and Casey Klofstad (Associate Professor, Political Science, University of Miami) on Friday, February 19, 2016 at FAU in Boca Raton.

Dr. Kailiang Jia , FAU Associate Professor, was awarded an NIH R15 grant for three years, totaling $356,678.

Dr. Alex Keene has been hired as an Associate Professor in the Biological Sciences Department at FAU and set up his Jupiter-based lab in August 2015. Keene brings one NSF and two NIH grants to FAU. He studies the genetic basis of sleep and memory using the fruit fly and the blind Mexican cavefish. Keene has 29 peer-reviewed articles in high impact journals. He brings five graduate students and one postdoctoral fellow to FAU.

Silvana Jaramillo Coordinator, Academic Support has joined the JLSI group and will be the go-to point person for financial issues including grant budgets and contracts.

Seven students joined the IBNS joint Ph.D. Program in 2015:
Jeff van Note (M.S., Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
Camillo Yepes (B.S., FAU)
Karlis Justs (M.S., FAU)
Wesley Bollinger (B.S., George Fox University)
Kazuma Murakami (B.S., University of Nevada at Reno)
Melissa Slocumb (B.S., University of Nevada at Reno)
Maria Yurgel (B.S., Marist College)
 Last Modified 7/18/17