In order to help ensure the safety and well being of FAU students, faculty, and employees , the Office of the Provost, in conjunction with Education Abroad created the FAU Education Abroad Safety and Security Committee (the “Committee”) which will be expanding in 2018-2019 to become the university-wide FAU Global Travel Safety & Security Committee. The Committee advises Education Abroad and the University on best practices in the areas of student safety and security for travel abroad. The Committee also reviews petitions for FAU approved study abroad programming and university-related student individual and group travel in locations of high risk.  The Committee will consider exceptions to the general prohibition based on a careful review of the safety and related features of the program under review, and the academic need and merits of the program or activity being proposed.   Such exemptions may be granted only when petitioned by University program leaders or organizers. The Committee will also deliberate on the suspension of any approved program in locations and any other location where there may be an FAU program or affiliation, when world conditions alter the safety and security assessment of a program. Committee recommendations will be advisory to the Provost who will decide if an exemption should be granted or a program suspended. In emergent circumstances, when time does not permit a full committee meeting, the Provost may act independently or upon a recommendation of Education Abroad.

2019 - 2020 Committee

Director, Education Abroad Madison McShane
Executive Director, Center for Global Engagement Mihaela Metianu
Acting Vice President Student Affairs & Enrollment Management Larry Faerman
Associate General Counsel, Office of the Legal Counsel Daniel Jones
Director, Student Health Services LeAnn Gutierrez
Risk Manager, Environmental Health & Safety                                                           Arnie Harrison
Ombudsman, Administrative Affairs                                        Angella Wint
Associate Dean/Professor, College of Business Rupert Rhodd
Chief, FAU Police Sean Brammer
Coordinator of Clinical Programs, Counseling & Psychological Services Lucinda Bratini





Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/29/20