History of Holmes Scholars Program in the COE at FAU

Valerie Bristor On November 17, 2016, the Holmes Scholars Program at FAU was established in the COE by Dean Valerie Bristor with five inaugural Holmes Scholars. At the end of her tenure as a dean in the COE in July 2019, the program had nine scholars from four doctoral granting departments. Five scholars graduated with their doctorates and all of them are gainfully employed. Dr. Bristor provided mentorship to the scholars and created amble opportunity for peer support, professional development, and rich scholarly experiences to the scholars by accompanying them to AACTE Annual meetings and Annual Holmes Scholars Summer Policy Institute in Washington, D.C.