Welcome Statement for Academic Year 2019-20

Published Monday, August 12, 2019

Race to Excellence

Anthony AbbateFlorida Atlantic University is pursuing its Strategic Plan for the Race to Excellence, 2015-2025 to rank among the top 100 public universities in the nation.  

Designated by the Florida legislature as the lead state university serving Broward County, FAU reflects our community in a spirit of collaboration, diversity and distinction as we prepare our graduates with the skills, knowledge, and attitudes necessary to thrive in a competitive work environment.

Our campuses in Broward County, Florida provide access to cutting edge research and teaching while defining areas of focus for each of our locations that best serve the needs of our region.

The mission of FAU Broward Administration is to collaborate with all university divisions to provide excellent service at our three educational sites strategically situated at Dania Beach, Fort Lauderdale, and Davie.  We want FAU Broward to continue to be the first choice for excellence and value in higher education and student experience.  Our Broward campuses are home to important research centers including the Institute for Ocean and Systems Engineering (SeaTech); the Florida Center for Environmental Studies (CES); the Freight Mobility Research Institute (FMRI), a Tier 1 University Transportation Center; as well as the Principal Rapid Orientation and Preparation in Educational Leadership (PROPEL) program, an innovative partnership with Broward County Public Schools; and the STEM Education Laboratory.  Our MetroLAB, an academic space in the School of Architecture in downtown Fort Lauderdale, provides a window and a reflection of our urban built environment.

I invite you to explore our Web site to learn more about our academic programs, our campuses and our services.  If you have any questions about our campuses please do not hesitate to contact us. Our Broward Administrative Team is at your service!

Anthony Abbate, AIA, NCARB
Associate Provost for the Broward Campuses
Professor | School of Architecture

 Last Modified 8/12/19