FAU
Department of Sociology

Graduate Sociology Student Association (GSSA)

The Graduate Sociology Student Association (GSSA) is a student-run organization whose goal is to serve, advocate for, and support the intellectual, scholarly, and professional needs of graduate students in FAU’s Sociology MA Program. Like the Sociology Student Association (SSA), we are actively involved in efforts to increase student involvement in academic activities, provide a social networking group for students interested in sociology, and cultivate an environment that facilitates learning from one another. We organize and participate in events that benefit the community and that create awareness about issues affecting our society. Examples of events organized by the GSSA are “What Can You Do with a Sociology Degree?” workshops, book discussions, film screenings, guest lectures, and volunteer opportunities.

We are also active in promoting and supporting the scholarly and professional goals of MA sociology students, including: helping incoming MA students transition into the program, circulating information on upcoming sociology events and conferences, providing information on how to access university financial support for conferences, and fostering a safe, respectful intellectual space to share ideas, research projects, and critical insights into current events and scholarly debates in the field of sociology.

 

Our officers for the 2016-17 school year:

President: Jacqueline Frazer (jfrazer2@fau.edu)

Vice Presidents: Jolynn Longo (jlongo2013@my.fau.edu) and Gabriel Dicolla (gdicolla@fau.edu)

Treasurer: Lunias Mondelus (lmondelus2014@fau.edu)

Media Manager: Davyd Heasley (dheasley@fau.edu)

Secretary: Rhonda Cifone (rcifone1@fau.edu)

Graduate Student Liaison: Jacqueline Frazer (jfrazer2@fau.edu)

 

Find us on social media!

Instagram @gssa_at_fau

Facebook https://m.facebook.com/GSSAatFAU

 

For more information, contact: jfrazer2@fau.edu, Graduate Student Office, Culture and Society Bldg. (CU 249)

 Last Modified 12/11/16