Research Council

The Research Council represents the diversity of research, scholarship and creative activity at Florida Atlantic University (FAU) with faculty members who are appointed by their college Deans. The Research Council was established to foster research at FAU by working closely with the Vice President for Research regarding research affairs. The Research Council helps to define the needs of the faculty and other researchers; analyzes services, policies and procedures that affect research; and makes recommendations that will facilitate the research process and productivity at the University. The Research Council is not a policy making body, but instead, an entity established to develop policy and procedure recommendations to the Vice President for Research.

Research Council Members

College/Department Name/Title E-mail Phone Number
College for Design and Social Inquiry Anthony Abbate, PhD
Associate Provost & Professor
aabbate@fau.edu 954.762.5225
QEP Donna Chamely-Wiik, PhD
Director and Assistant Scientist/Scholar
dchamely@fau.edu 561.297.0046
Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute Megan Davis, PhD
Associate Executive Director
mdavi105@hboi.fau.edu 772.465.2400
University Research Committee Arlene Fradkin, PhD
Associate Professor
afradkin@fau.edu 561.297.3231
College of Business Paul Hart, PhD
Associate Dean
hart@fau.edu 561.297.3674
College of Engineering
and Computer Science / Department of Ocean & Mechanical Engineering
Javad Hashemi, PhD
Chair & Professor
jhashemi@fau.edu 561.297.3438
Dorothy F. Schmidt
College of Arts & Letters /
Department of Languages, Linguistics, & Comparative Literature
Michael Horswell, PhD 
Chair and Associate Professor
horswell@fau.edu 561.297.3863
College of Education / Department of Teaching and Learning Julie Lambert, PhD
Associate Professor
jlambert@fau.edu 561.297.0082
Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College / Department of Social Science Kevin Lanning, PhD
Professor
lanning@fau.edu 561.799.8652
Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing Patricia Liehr, PhD
Associate Dean for Research
pliehr@fau.edu 561.297.2048
Charles E. Schmidt
College of Medicine / Department of Basic Science
John W. Newcomer, M.D.
Executive Vice Dean
jnewcomer@fau.edu 561.297.0252
Charles E. Schmidt College of Science / Department of Psychology Robert Stackman, PhD
Associate Professor
rstackman@fau.edu 561.297.2270




Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us
An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution

© Copyright 2013. Florida Atlantic University.
 Last Modified 4/1/14