FAU Honors 2018 Hall of Fame Inductee & Distinguished Alumni

By brittany sylvestri | 5/3/2018

The Florida Atlantic University Alumni Association (FAUAA) hosted its annual Hall of Fame and Distinguished Alumni ceremony and reception last night. The event brought together alumni to celebrate the accomplishments of their most outstanding peers. 

Alumni from seven of FAU’s colleges were honored for their career accomplishments, and Desmond Blackburn, Ph.D. ’06,was introduced as the 2018 inductee into the FAUAA Hall of Fame. 

“This event recognizes extraordinary alumni who demonstrate exceptional service and commitment to their professions or to the community,” said FAU President John Kelly . “It is an honor to call them Owls.”

The recipients included:

  • Desmond Blackburn, Ph.D. ’06, College of Education (Hall of Fame inductee)
  • Todd Pugh, B.S. ’93, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters
  • Kathleen Brush, M.B.A. ’80, College of Business 
  • Ryan Wheeler, B.S. ’06, College of Engineering and Computer Science
  • Michael Degani, Ph.D., B.A. ’05, Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College 
  • Eugenia Millender, Ph.D. ’13, M.S.N. ’06, B.S.N. ’99, Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing 
  • Cécile Penland de García, Ph.D., MPS ’77,  BS ’75, Charles E. Schmidt College of Science