Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Christine Dardet

FAU Microbiologist Named a Jefferson Science Fellow

Nwadiuto Esiobo, Ph.D., One of 13 Scientists Selected from U.S. Universities

BOCA RATON, FL (October 17, 2011) – Nwadiuto Esiobu, Ph.D., an associate professor and applied microbiologist in the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science’s department of biological sciences at Florida Atlantic University, has been named a Jefferson Science Fellow.  Esiobu is one of 13 scientists from U.S. universities selected to participate in the prestigious program, which was introduced by the U.S. State Department in 2003 to develop and advance the fields of science, technology and engineering in international arenas, and guide the design and implementation of U.S. government policy.

Esiobu will spend the 2011-12 academic year in Washington, D.C. as a lead science advisor in the Secretary of State’s Global Food Security Initiative. In this role, she will focus on sustainable agricultural output in Africa using proven technologies; advocate the creation of adaptable food production practices with changing climatic conditions; enhance outreach for adding value to raw material; and bridge gender inequity gaps in Feed the Future countries.

I am delighted at this rare opportunity to learn and serve, and look forward to my year in Washington with great expectations and eagerness,” said Esiobu. “Most of my research and outreach are aimed at sustainable development and biosecurity.  This award allows me to learn firsthand how science and technology intersect with economics and politics to influence policy. I see the fellowship as a platform to grow, and to use my expertise and experiences to fortify partnerships that may play important roles in the rapid globalization of world systems.”

In addition, Esiobu will lend her expertise to the Office of International Health and Biodefense, where she will focus on public health policy to address the use of counterfeit and substandard medicines such as antibiotics and antivirals.  By highlighting the health risks associated with use of counterfeit medicines, she will promote multilateral and regional policy efforts to deter the manufacturing and marketing of fake drugs, which infringe on the U.S. Intellectual Property Rights and account for huge economic losses.


“Scientists who are selected for this fellowship are truly unique, as they must not only demonstrate scientific achievements but must show interest in diplomacy and the ability to describe complex scientific issues to non-expert audiences,” said Gary W. Perry, Ph.D., dean of the College of Science at FAU. “We are proud of Diuto for being selected and for representing Florida Atlantic University at this level.”

The Jefferson Science Fellows program is administered by the National Academies and supported through a partnership between the scientific academic community, professional scientific societies and the Department of State.  For more information, visit


About Florida Atlantic University:
Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. In commemoration of its origin, FAU is celebrating its 50th anniversary throughout 2011. Today, the University serves more than 29,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering and Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 8/26/12