Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Foundation Board Re-elects Bruce Allen as Chair

Three New Members Join Board

BOCA RATON, Fla. (July 17, 2014) – The Florida Atlantic University Foundation Board recently held its annual meeting and election of officers. Continuing their service as members of the Foundation Board’s executive committee are chair Bruce Allen ’71; former treasurer Patricia McKay ’78, who was elected vice chair; and former secretary Brett Greenberg, who was elected treasurer. Christopher Fluehr joins the executive committee as secretary.

The Board also welcomed three new members, noted for their civic service and professional accomplishments.

Ken Porpora ’98 is senior vice president and CFO for ADT Residential Business. He received a bachelor’s degree in finance from FAU.

Marta I. Rendon, M.D. is a double board-certified physician with more than 25 years of experience and is founder of the Rendon Center for Dermatology and Aesthetic Medicine. A world-renowned researcher and global spokesperson for Head & Shoulders brand, she has been featured in numerous television programs and magazines, and many of her medical and cosmetic patients are physicians and well-known celebrities. Rendon has served as a clinical associate professor at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and FAU’s Department of Biomedical Sciences, and is the former chairperson of the Department of Dermatology at Cleveland Clinic Florida. She received her medical degree from the University of Puerto Rico, San Juan; and completed an internal medicine residency at Albert Einstein Medical Center in Philadelphia and dermatology residency at Parkland Memorial Hospital in Dallas.

Lorna Sohn Williams, M.D. is president of Palm Beach Radiology Professionals. She also serves as medical director for the department of radiology at JFK Medical Center in Atlantis, Fla.; affiliate clinical assistant professor for the University of Miami-JFK Campus’ Department of Medicine; and medical director of HCA-Florida Open Imaging in Lake Worth. Williams is a member of the American Medical Association, Florida Medical Association and American Society of Pediatric Neuroradiology, among other professional organizations. She is a graduate of Wellesley College and Rutgers Medical School.

“I am pleased to welcome our three new members to the FAU Foundation Board,” said Joanne Davis, interim vice president for institutional advancement and executive director of the FAU Foundation. “Their professional experience, community involvement and dedication to this University will greatly benefit the Foundation and the FAU community as a whole.”

For more information about the FAU Foundation, visit .


Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University, with an annual economic impact of $6.3 billion, serves more than 30,000 undergraduate and graduate students at sites throughout its six-county service region in southeast Florida. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering and Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University is placing special focus on the rapid development of three signature themes – marine and coastal issues, biotechnology and contemporary societal challenges – which provide opportunities for faculty and students to build upon FAU’s existing strengths in research and scholarship. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 9/7/16