Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT:  Terry Gearing

FAU Honors Outstanding Leaders at 2010 Talon Awards Ceremony

            BOCA RATON, FL (November 30, 2010) – Florida Atlantic University recently held its 15th Talon Awards ceremony as part of Homecoming 2010. Since 1997, the Talon Awards ceremony has recognized outstanding leaders from the community, alumni constituency, faculty and student body. Co-sponsored by the FAU National Alumni Association (FAUNAA) and FAU Student Government, this year’s event and reception were held at the Marleen & Harold Forkas Alumni Center on the Boca Raton campus. Honored that evening were Nancy Blosser, chair of FAU’s Board of Trustees; John Scannell ’92, member of the FAUNAA Board and chair of FAUNAA scholarship committee; Lucy Madsen Guglielmino, professor within FAU’s College of Education; and Jennifer Joseph, pre-med major in FAU’s Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.
             “The Talon Awards are a wonderful University tradition,” said FAU President Mary Jane Saunders. “We are proud to recognize those who have provided outstanding service to FAU. It is a pleasure to join together with students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of the University to celebrate the accomplishments of our Talon Award recipients.”  
            The recipient of the 2010 President’s Talon Award was Nancy Blosser. Providing outstanding service to the University community, Blosser is a charter member of the FAU Board of Trustees and currently serves as chair. Previously, she served as vice-chair of the board, chair of the Audit and Finance Committee and prior to that, as chair of the Strategic Planning Committee. Additionally, Blosser was a member of FAU’s Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing Advisory Board. Most recently, she served as chair of the FAU Presidential Search Committee and worked tirelessly to involve the entire FAU and local communities in selecting FAU's 6th president, Dr. M.J. Saunders.
            “I am delighted to be recognized with this award and very proud to be part of the prestigious group of past Talon recipients,” said Blosser.
            This year’s recipient of the Alumni Talon Award was John Scannell ’92. Acknowledging leadership, achievement, community involvement and loyalty to FAU and the FAUNAA, the Alumni Talon Award is presented annually to a member of the alumni body. Scannell, who was selected from a strong field of contenders, is deputy director for the Boca Raton Housing Authority. He has served multiple terms on the FAUNAA Board and was president of the Board in 2001/2002. Scannell is a member of FAU’s Alumni Honor Society, the Parliament of OWLs, and currently serves as chair of the FAUNAA Scholarship Committee. Scannell has not only volunteered countless hours to the association and the University, but he has also been a generous financial contributor.  He was the first alumnus to make a $10,000 gift toward the construction of the Marleen & Harold Forkas Alumni Center and launched the fundraising campaign for the center by challenging his fellow board members to match his gift
            “So much of my success in life is a direct result of FAU,” said Scannell. “I am fortunate to reap the benefits of my education every day.”
            Accepting the 2010 Faculty Talon Award was Lucy Madsen Guglielmino, Ph.D. Chosen from a field of worthy candidates, Guglielmino typifies excellence in teaching. She came to FAU as a visiting assistant professor in 1977 and has served the University for close to 33 years in a variety of faculty positions, including chair of the department of educational leadership and director of the Melby Center for Community Education. Since 1979, Guglielmino has worked with graduate students in a wide range of capacities, including assisting in the design of graduate programs, counseling students as they consider entering the program, developing course outlines, teaching courses, preparing and grading comprehensive exams, and serving on doctoral committees. During her tenure at FAU, she authored or co-authored 32 grants which were funded for a total of $1,667,435. Guglielmino also contributed extensive service to the Florida Department of Education, serving as a consultant on community education to the commissioner of education and his staff.
            “I am fortunate to have chosen the best profession there is. Being able to donate your full attention to helping people learn and grow is a great reward in itself,” said Guglielmino. “It has been a privilege, a challenge and an unending source of joy.”
            The recipient of the 2010 Student Talon Award was Jennifer Joseph. Honored for her leadership skills and meaningful service to the University and the community at large, Joseph is a senior in the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. She currently works in the Office of Student Involvement and Leadership. Joseph served as chair of the Haiti Relief Volunteer Committee, has been a student note taker for three years and is an active volunteer at Boca Raton Community Hospital. Joseph also works as a resident assistant in Heritage Park Towers and was named an “Unsung Hero” in 2010 by housing & residential life. She has been instrumental in the creation of United Leaders for Success, the charter group of the Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership Honor Society. Shortly after receiving the charter, the group elected Joseph as president.
            Prior to the Talon Awards presentation, 16 FAU graduates were inducted into the Parliament of OWLs (Older, Wiser Leaders). The University’s alumni honor society, the Parliament of OWLS recognizes and reunites outstanding alumni who are former student leaders, past presidents of the FAUNAA, distinguished alumni of the colleges and Alumni Hall of Fame members.
            The FAUNAA is a non-profit alumni organization that represents almost 120,000 FAU alumni. For more information about the FAUNAA, contact alumni relations at 1-888-FAU-ALUM (328-2586).

- FAU -

About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit .

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16