Media Relations

Press Release :


FAU Raises More Than $100,000 in Donations for Presidential Inauguration

BOCA RATON, FL (October 25, 2010) – Florida Atlantic University raised more than $100,000 in cash and in-kind sponsorships to cover the cost of the week-long series of activities associated with the inauguration of FAU’s sixth president, Dr. Mary Jane Saunders.  

President Saunders, Chartwells Group, Inc., James A. Cummings, Inc. (and subcontractors), FAU’s Board of Trustees, FAU’s Foundation, FAU’s National Alumni Association, Marleen Forkas, Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute Foundation, Randy Justice ’73, Michael I. Kaufman, Pete and Kerry LoBello, George R. Newkome, Ph.D. and the University Club are the “Wave of Distinction” lead sponsors for the week-long series of events.

“Wave of Diversity” sponsors include Bruce Allen ’71; Ambassador Printing; AutoNation; Balfour Beatty Capital; Balfour Beatty Construction; Bank of America; FAU Board of Trustees member Anthony Barbar; Barnes & Noble College Book Sellers; Becker & Poliakoff, P.A.; Romayne Berry ’98, chair of the FAU National Alumni Association;  FAU Board of Trustees Chair Nancy Blosser and Jim Blosser; Capstone Development Corp; Creative Cuisine Catering; Donadio & Associates, Architects; Dunlap & Associates, Inc; Edison Advertising; FAU Board of Trustees member Dr. Jeffrey P. Feingold; Florida Power & Light; Gilly Vending; FAU Board of Trustees member Rajendra P. Gupta, M.D.; David and Karen ’89 Gury; Healthcare Imaging, LLC; HKS Architects/SchenkelShultz Architecture/SSR, Inc; Judith Teller Kaye; Leo A. Daly; Lifelong Learning Society Boca Raton; Lifelong Learning Society Jupiter; LoBello Architects; Gerri McPherson ’89; MEP Structural, Sal Giorlando; FAU Board of Trustees member Sherry Plymale and Thomas Plymale ’69, DDS; PNC Bank; FAU Board of Trustees member Robert S. Rubin and Michelle Rubin; Southeastern Printing; FAU Board of Trustees member Robert J. Stilley; Tierra South Florida; Trane Co; FAU Board of Governors member Norman D. Tripp; Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College; Rhys Williams, Esq; FAU Board of Trustees member Tom Workman and Maureen Workman.

“Wave of Discovery” sponsors include Adventures in Advertising; Assistance Unlimited;  Atlas Sign Industries of Florida, LLC; FAU Board of Trustees member William Bryant, DDS, Sc.D; FAU Board of Trustees member David Feder; Florida Detroit Diesel; Hesperides Group; Lay, Pitman & Associates; Timothy Lenz, Ph.D., president of FAU Faculty Senate and Board of Trustees member; Hoyt C. Murphy Realtors, Inc.; PGAL; Phybill, Inc.; Donald Proctor with Proctor Construction Company; Promotional Breezes; FAU National Alumni Association board member John Scannell; South Florida Dentistry for Children & Orthodontics, P.A.; Southwest Direct; State Farm Insurance; Robert Stephens, DMD; Florida Board of Governors member John W. Temple; WXEL Radio; and Wyndham Garden Hotel.

Money raised in excess of the inauguration expenditures will go towards the President’s Scholarship Challenge.  Recognizing the challenges students face in furthering their education, the fund was launched with a personal gift of $50,000 from Saunders and will benefit student scholarships.

FAU will host the inauguration installation ceremony of President Saunders on Friday, October 29 at 10 a.m. in the Carole and Barry Kaye Auditorium, FAU’s Student Union, 777 Glades Road, Boca Raton campus.  The installation ceremony is part of a weeklong series of events that begin on Sunday, October 24 and conclude on Saturday, October 30. The inaugural celebration intertwines with the university’s Homecoming festivities. 

For more information, contact Jennifer Dubuque at 561-297- 4064 or


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16