Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT:  Terry Gearing


FAU Jupiter’s Wilkes Honors College Holds Annual Named Scholar Recognition Ceremony

Pulitzer Prize Winning Journalist Mirta Ojito to Speak

WHAT:                   Florida Atlantic University’s Harriet L.
                               Wilkes Honors College Named Scholar
                               Recognition Ceremony with guest speaker,
                               FAU Alumna Mirta Ojito ’86

                 Friday, November 13, 1 p.m.

               FAU’s John D. MacArthur Campus
                               AD Auditorium (AD 119)
                               5353 Parkside Drive, Jupiter

                   Free and open to the public
                               Seating is limited and reservations
                               are recommended.

           Margaret Allen at 561-799-8105 or

            Mirta Ojito, award-winning journalist and author of Finding Man ana: A Memoir of a Cuban Exodus, will be the guest speaker at FAU’s Wilkes Honors College annual Named Scholar Recognition Ceremony.  The book captures her journey at 16 from Cuba to the United States during the 1980 Mariel boatlift. Ojito, a 1986 graduate of Florida Atlantic University, is a Pulitzer Prize winner, assistant professor of journalism at Columbia University, and bi-weekly columnist for The Miami Herald. She is currently at work on her second book.

The 2009-2010 Wilkes Honors College Named Scholars and their donors will be recognized during the ceremony.  The event provides the opportunity for scholarship donors to meet with the recipients of their generosity, and for students to meet and thank their benefactors.


About Florida Atlantic University:
Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College,  the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.  

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16