Media Relations

Press Release:

                                                                     MEDIA CONTACT: Patsy Jones

FAU Announces 12th Annual Internet High School Math Competition

          BOCA RATON, FL (October 9, 2007) – Florida Atlantic University and the department of mathematical sciences of the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science announces its 12 th annual Internet Mathematics Competition for the academic year 2007-2008. All high school students in Florida are eligible to participate in the competition.

            The purpose of this competition is to encourage students’ interest in solving mathematical problems of varying difficulty, to challenge their mathematics skills and ingenuity, and to prepare them for the more formal competitions which will be conducted in Spring 2008 by the Mathematical Association of America.

            The competition consists of six challenging problems, which can be viewed at   Interested students also may request a paper copy of the competition by sending in their mailing address.   Neatly written entries to the problems should be sent by mail to: Dr. Xiao-Dong Zhang, Department of Mathematical Sciences, Florida Atlantic University, 777 Glades Road, Boca Raton, FL 33431-0991.

Solutions will not be accepted by e-mail.   To qualify as contest entries, submissions must be postmarked on or before Monday, November 12.    Cash prizes and certificates will be awarded at a ceremony which is tentatively scheduled for Saturday, March 1, 2008.

The winners from last year’s competition were first place – Shelly Jin, Lake Worth; second place – Siraj Iqbal, Miami; and third place – Jonathan Farina, Royal Palm Beach.

For more information, contact Dr. Paul Yiu or Dr. Xiao-Dong Zhang at .


Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serv es more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts nine colleges:  the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, and the Colleges of Business, Education, Engineering & Computer Science, and Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 8/26/12