Media Relations

Press Release:


Governor Crist Reappoints FAU Distinguished Research Professor to the Biomedical Research Advisory Council

BOCA RATON, FL (April 23, 2010) – Florida Atlantic University’s Charles E. Schmidt College of Science’s Distinguished Research Professor Herbert Weissbach has been reappointed  by Governor Crist to the Biomedical Research Advisory Council (BRAC) for a term beginning April 19, 2010 and ending on January 1, 2012.

Weissbach is a member of the National Science Academy and director of the Center for Molecular Biology and Biotechnology at FAU’s Jupiter campus. 

“I am honored by this reappointment and look forward to continuing with the council to help support research on tobacco related diseases and cancer funded by the James and Esther King and the Bankhead-Coley Biomedical Research Programs,” said Weissbach.

The 11 member BRAC advises the state surgeon general on the direction and scope of biomedical research programs and is also charged with developing the strategic objectives and priorities of the programs.  Four of the BRAC members are appointed by the Governor.


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit .

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16