Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Student Government to Swear In Newly-Elected Officials

Vice President is First Student from a Campus Other than Boca to Hold Position

BOCA RATON, FL (April 22, 2008) - Florida Atlantic University’s Student Government (SG) will swear in its new executive branch on Wednesday, May 7 from 5 to 6 p.m. in the art gallery area of the Carole and Barry Kaye Auditorium in FAU’s Student Union, 777 Glades Road, Boca Raton campus. A reception will follow in the VIP Room of the auditorium. Abe Cohen will be sworn in as FAU’s new student body president and Edward Fulton as student body vice president.

Cohen, 21, of Boca Raton, is a senior majoring in marketing in the Barry Kaye College of Business at FAU’s Boca campus.

“I already broke the learning barrier as SG vice president last year, and I'm going to hit the floor running as president for the upcoming year,” said Cohen. “I thank all of the students who voted because it is going to be an exciting year.”

Fulton, 21, of Jupiter, attends the Harriet L. Wilkes Honor College at FAU Jupiter and is a senior majoring in liberal arts and sciences with a concentration in biochemistry. He is the first elected SG vice president to take a full load of classes at a campus other than Boca Raton.  

FAU SG also will swear in its new campus governors, chosen to represent each of FAU’s seven campuses. The newly elected campus governors include Tiffany Weimar, Boca Raton campus; Thomas Zeichman, Jupiter campus; Priscilla Velasquez, Broward campuses; and Lauren Egan, Treasure Coast campus.

       SG is the elected representative body for FAU students. The primary purpose of SG is to provide various programs and services for FAU students.

- FAU -

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts ten colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College,   the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.  

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16