Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Jessica Aptman


FAU to Host 2011 Business Plan Competition

FAU Alumnus Ralph de la Vega is Keynote Speaker

BOCA RATON, FL (March 21, 2011) – Florida Atlantic University’s Adams Center for Entrepreneurship and the College of Business will host the final rounds of its 2011 Business Plan Competition on Thursday, April 14 and Friday, April 15.  This two- day event provides an opportunity for FAU students, alumni and, for the first time, members of the business community to submit and test an innovative business plan while competing for a share of more than $100,000 in cash and prizes for their business ideas

More than 165 teams have registered for the competition, but only 16 will advance to the final round events. These final-round teams will present their business plans to experienced venture capital principals, early-stage angel investors, successful entrepreneurs and senior business leaders on Friday, April 15, from 8 a.m. to noon in BU 120 in FAU’s College of Business building.  Members of the community are invited to attend the presentations.    

FAU alumnus Ralph de la Vega, president and chief executive officer of AT&T Mobility and Consumer Markets, will provide the keynote address, which is open to the public, on Friday, April 15, from 1:45 to 2:45 p.m. in BU 120 in FAU’s College of Business building.  De la Vega leads all consumer marketing, sales, content, converged services and customer care for AT&T’s wireless and wired businesses.  Prior to this position, he was president and CEO of AT&T Mobility, where he was responsible for AT&T’s wireless business since October 2007.   

Each team will have an opportunity during the private welcome reception on April 14 to present a 90-second elevator pitch, and attendees will vote for their favorite idea. The team with the most votes will be awarded the second annual People’s Choice Award and a $5,000 cash prize sponsored by Woolbright Development.  The winners of the business plan competition and the People’s Choice Award will be presented during the award luncheon on Friday, April 15.

For more information, contact Kimberly Gramm at 561-297-3628 or 


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. In commemoration of its origin, FAU is celebrating its 50th anniversary throughout 2011. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16