Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Kristine M. Gobbo

FAU Narrows Presidential Candidates to Three Finalists

            BOCA RATON, FL (February 25, 2010) – The pool of candidates for Florida Atlantic University’s presidency was narrowed down today from five to three after a full day of interviews by the presidential search committee.

            “There were many very qualified candidates who applied for the presidency of Florida Atlantic University,” said Nancy Blosser, FAU Board of Trustees chair and chair of the presidential search committee.  “FAU has an exceptional group of finalists, and I’m sure that whoever is chosen will lead FAU to the next level of excellence.”

            The three finalists are –

            Dr. Terry L. Hickey is provost and executive vice president at the University of Central Florida. With a student body exceeding 53,500, UCF is the third largest university in the United States. Dr. Hickey has held his present title since 2006. From 2003 to 2006, he was UCF’s provost and vice president for academic affairs. He has also served as senior vice president and provost at the University of Akron (2000-2003) and dean of the College of Sciences at Old Dominion University (1997-2000). From 1979 to 1997, he was at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, where he held a succession of administrative positions including associate provost for academic programs and associate vice president for medical center programs. Dr. Hickey received his Ph.D. in physiological psychology from the University of Miami in 1972, and he took postdoctoral training in neuroanatomy at the University of Wisconsin from 1972 to 1974.

Dr. Gary L. Miller , who since 2006, has served as provost and vice president for academic affairs and research at Wichita State University, where he is also a professor of biology. Wichita State has a current enrollment of 14,500 undergraduate and graduate students. From 2002 to 2006, Dr. Miller was dean of the arts and sciences college and a professor of biology at the University of the Pacific. He chaired the department of biology at the University of Mississippi from 1995 to 2002, having joined the biology faculty there in 1988. He also was a member of the zoology faculty at Weber State University, where he served as assistant director of the Museum of Natural Sciences. Dr. Miller received his Ph.D. in biological sciences from Mississippi State University in 1982.

Dr. Mary Jane Saunders has been provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at Cleveland State University, which is currently serving more than 16,000 undergraduate and graduate students. Dr. Saunders joined Cleveland State University in 2003 as director of the Biomedical Health Institute and a professor in the department of biological, geological and environmental sciences. She was founding dean of the College of Science, CSU’s second largest college. She was named interim provost in 2006 and provost in 2007. Prior to arriving at CSU, Dr. Saunders was a program officer and deputy division director at the National Science Foundation, director of the Institute of Biomolecular Science at the University of South Florida and an assistant professor in the botany department at Louisiana State University. Dr. Saunders received her Ph.D. in botany from the University of Massachusetts in 1982, and she did postdoctoral work at the University of Georgia from 1982 to 1983.

On March 1 and 2, the finalists will tour selected FAU campuses, meeting with students, faculty, staff and friends of the university

in open forums.  These open forums will allow the university community to provide comment on the presidential candidates.

The Board of Trustees will meet on Wednesday, March 3 to interview the finalists with the expectation of naming one to the presidency of FAU via majority vote.

For more information on FAU’s presidential search, visit .

- FAU –

About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit .

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16