Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Polly Burks
561-297-2595, pburks@fau.edu

FAU Experts on U.S. Presidential Elections and Election Issues

BOCA RATON, FL (January 22, 2008) –As the election season continues to gear up, the following Florida Atlantic University experts are available to discuss the U.S. presidential elections, presidential debates and election issues:

Communication/Debate:

  • David Cratis Williams is an associate professor in FAU’s School of Communication and Multimedia Studies.   He is a former assistant debate coach at the University of North Carolina and at the University of Kansas, and also a former director of debate at Wake Forest University.   Williams can be reached at 561-297-0045 (office), 561-638-8803 (home) or dcwill@fau.edu.

Political Science/United States:

  • Kevin Wagner is an assistant professor in the department of political science.   He has expertise in the field of political behavior, including public opinion, campaigning and elections.  Wagner has also done research on the importance of web presence for political candidates and on the Florida legislative process. Wagner can be reached at 561-297-3218 (office), 561-252-1794 (cell) or kwagne15@fau.edu.
  • Anita Pritchard is a professor in the department of political science.   Her research focuses on the analysis of legislative politics at both the national and state level, as well as state public policy. Pritchard can be reached at 561-297-3089 (office), 561-573-8832 (cell) or pritchar@fau.edu.
  • Jim Lamare is a professor in the department of political science.   His focus is on public opinion, political culture and interest groups.   Lamare can be reached 954-236-8623 (office) or jlamare@fau.edu.

Political Science/International:

  • Mehmet Gurses (Middle East) is a professor in the department of political science. His research interests include democracy and democratization, ethnic and religious conflicts and the emergence and evolution of the Islamist parties in the Middle East. Gurses is fluent in Turkish and Kurdish. He can be reached at 561-297-3213 (office), 940-300-7310 (cell) or gurses@fau.edu
  • Robert Rabil (Middle East) is an assistant professor and director of graduate studies in the department of political science. His areas of expertise include national and international security, U.S. Foreign Policy, U.S.-Arab and U.S.-Muslim relations, the Arab-Israeli conflict, and politics and economies of the Arab World, Iraq, Syria, Egypt, Lebanon, Iran, Turkey, Pakistan and Israel. Rabil can be reached at 561-297-3215 (office), 561-302-0470 (cell) or rrabil@fau.edu.
  • Aimee Kanner (Europe and Latin America) is an assistant professor of political science.  Kanner’s interests include comparative politics and international relations, particularly in the areas of Europe and Latin America.  She can be reached at 561-297-3211 (office), 561-756-3888 (cell) or akanner2@fau.edu.
  • Jeffrey Morton (international law and world politics) is a professor of political science.   His a reas of specialization are U.S. foreign policy and international law. Morton is co-founder of FAU’s Peace Studies Program.   He can be reached at 561-297-3216 (office), 561-313-9106 (cell) or jmorton@fau.edu.
  • Renat Shaykhutdinov (former Soviet Union ) is an assistant professor of political science.   His teaching and research interests include comparative and international politics, ethnic conflict, and the politics of the former Soviet Union and Central and Eastern Europe. Shaykhutdinov is fluent in Tatar, Russian and Turkish.   He can be reached at 561-297-3775 (office) or rshaykhu@fau.edu.

History:

  • Ken Osgood is a professor of history.   He specializes in presidential history from the Civil War period to today.   Osgood is the director of the 2008 Larkin Presidential Symposium at FAU. He can be reached at 561-297-2816 (office), 561-702-4079 (cell) or kosgood@fau.edu .
  • Stephen Engle is a professor of history.   He specializes in presidential history up to the Civil War period.   Engle is a former chair of FAU’s department of history and was appointed a distinguished lecturer for the Organization of American Historians.   He can be reached at 561-297-2444 (office) or engle@fau.edu .

Healthcare:

  • Rose Sherman is an assistant professor in the College of Nursing.   She focuses on healthcare workforce issues.   She can be reached at 561-297-0055 (office), 561-379-5650 (cell) or   rsherman@fau.edu .
  • Marlaine Smith is a profe ssor and associate dean of academic programs in the   College of Nursing. Her focus is on healthcare policy.   She can be reached at 561-297-3318 (office), 303-506-3450 (cell) or msmit230@fau.edu .
  • Patricia Liehr is a professor and associate dean for Nursing Research and Scholarship in the College of Nursing.   Her focus is on healthcare policy.   She can be reached at 561-297-2048 (office) or pliehr@fau.edu .
  • Theris Touhy is an associate professor in the College of Nursing.   Her focus is on   healthcare for the elderly and gerontology.   She can be reached at 561-297-2321 (office), 954-614-7261 (cell) or ttouhy@fau.edu .

Economy:

  • Neuman Pollack is in the department of management, international business and entrepreneurship in the Barry Kaye College of Business.   His focus is on social security, business and public policy issues.   Pollack can be reached at 561-297-1316 (office) or npollack@fau.edu .

Women’s Studies:

  • Marsha Rose is an associate professor and director of the Women’s Studies Center.   She focuses on women’s issues.   She can be reached at 561-297-0163 (office), 410-916-3783 (cell) or msrose@fau.edu.

Ethnic Studies:

  • Derrick White is a professor in the department of history.   He specializes in civil rights, black power and black intellectual history.   White can be reached at 561-297-1329 (office), 614-832-7108 (cell) or dwhite41@fau.edu.
  • Art Evans is a professor in the department of sociology.   He specializes in the study of race and the American black middle class.   Evans can be reached at 561-297-3276 (office) or evansa@fau.edu.  
  • Clevis Headley is a professor in the department of philosophy and dean of ethnic studies in the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters.   He specializes in ethnic studies.   Headley can be reached at 561-297-3920 (office), 561-638-0233 (home) or headley@fau.edu.

Environment:

  • Robin Fiore is an associate professor in the department of philosophy and the Adelaide R. Snyder Professor in Environmental Studies.   She specializes in environmental ethics.   Fiore can be reached at 561-297-3869 (office), 561-638-0902 (home), 561-400-3416 (cell) or rfiore@fau.edu.

For additional FAU experts, contact Lisa Freed, senior public information officer at FAU, at 561-297-3022 or lfreed@fau.edu.

- FAU -

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2014. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 8/26/12