Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Students Gear Up for Mock Presidential Debate

                BOCA RATON, FL (January 16, 2008) – Florida Atlantic University’s Student Government Association will host a presidential mock debate on Thursday, January 17 from 6 to 8 p.m. at the University Theatre, FAU’s Boca Raton campus, 777 Glades Road.

Moderated by Florida Representative Maria Sachs, the debate will consist of six students that will represent the presidential candidates – three Democrats, three Republicans – and will debate the issues that lay at the forefront of the current U.S. presidential election.

“I respect the political process and how it works, and I believe the conversation and debate between people is important so that we try to educate others of things they might not necessarily be aware of,” said Kevin Cho Tipton, a freshman student at FAU who will play the role of U.S. Sen. John Edwards in the mock debate. “This is a great opportunity for FAU students to take part in and observe. I called Edward’s nationwide office in South Carolina, and they sent me his campaign position papers so I could prepare and represent him to the best of my ability. ”  

Other FAU students involved in the mock debate include Christopher Scott as U.S. Senator Barack Obama, Pablo W. Best as U.S. Senator Hillary Clinton, Dustin Mitchell as former New York Mayor Rudy Guiliani, Kaitlin Marotti as former U.S. Senator Fred Thompson, and Joseph Adams as Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee.

FAU President Frank T. Brogan will open the floor after the debate for a question and answer session with other Florida-elected officials, including Florida Senator Jeff Atwater, Florida Representative Susan Bucher, Florida Represenative Ari Porth and Boca Raton Mayor Steven Abrams.

            The mock debate is free and open to the public. For more information, contact Kenneth Osgood at 561-297-2816 or


Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16