Honors College News: FAU Debate Team's strong showing

FAU Debate Team with their medals
(Left to right) Hannah Gladyszewski, David Yombalakian, Georgianne Hallam, Alan Gray, Robert Bruton, Alexa Robinson, Rachel Tunick, and Philip Olsen


            The FAU Debate Team opened the spring semester strongly at the Marks Invitational, hosted by the University of West Florida in Pensacola. President Alan Gray, Honors College '11, won Extemporaneous Speaking, Editorial Impromptu, and Impromptu Speaking events. He and President-elect Philip Olsen also won Parliamentary Debate. Alan was named the top speaker in Parliamentary Debate, and Philip won Sixth Place in Novice Impromptu. Several other Honors College students also participated.
            Gray formed the team in the fall of 2007 as a freshman at FAU’s Honors College on the Jupiter campus. Since then, FAU’s Debate Team has established itself as one of the top programs in Florida, winning the Division I Small School Award at three consecutive State Championship tournaments, earning six state championship titles, and sending representatives to the Interstate Oratory Contest – the oldest speech and debate tournament in the United States – and the American Collegiate Moot Court Association’s past two National Championship tournaments. For more information on the FAU Debate Team, please contact President Gray at agray20@fau.edu or visit www.faudebate.com.

Last Modified 11/8/16