Aquaculture

Expertise



Our scientists and staff strive to continually advance aquaculture engineering, biological production, nutrition, new species development, business planning, and training. We focus on sustainable production through innovative recirculation system design concepts that minimize waste production and power consumption.

Dr. Paul Wills

Paul Wills, Ph.D.

Research Professor
Associate Director for Research
pwills2@fau.edu

Fish aquaculture for food and stock enhancement

Dr. Marty Richie

Marty Riche, Ph.D.

Research Professor
richem@fau.edu

Fish nutrition and feed development

Dr. Susan Laramore

Susan Laramore, Ph.D.

Associate Research Professor
slaramo1@fau.edu

Aquatic animal health

Dr. Megan Davis

Megan Davis, Ph.D.

Associate Executive Director, Academic Affairs & Economic Development
MDavi105@fau.edu

Advancing aquaculture for food and restoration

Matt Ajemian

Matt Ajemian, Ph.D.

Assistant Research Professor
majemian@fau.edu

Fish ecology and conservation

Dr. Dennis Hanisak

Dennis Hanisak, Ph.D.

Research Professor, Director of Education
dhanisak@fau.edu

Marine plants and seaweed aquaculture

Dr. Peter McCarthy

Peter McCarthy, Ph.D.

Research Professor, Associate Director for Education
pmccart5@fau.edu

Marine microbes in aquaculture systems

Dr. Anton Post

Anton Post, Ph.D.

Executive Director
Research Professor
apost@fau.edu

Production and removal of off-flavor compounds in aquaculture systems

Dr. Anni Dalgeish

Anni Vuorenkoski Dalgleish, Ph.D.

Assistant Research Professor
adalglei@fau.edu

Advancing sustainable system technology

Dr. Annie Page-Karjian

Annie Page-Karjian, DVM, Ph.D.

Assistant Research Professor
Clinical Veterinarian

cpagekarjian@fau.edu

Research and vet services for aquaculture

bing ouyang

Bing Ouyang, Ph.D.

Assistant Research Professor
bouyang@fau.edu

Advancing sustainable system technology

shirley pomponi

Shirley Pomponi, Ph.D.

Research Professor
spomponi@fau.edu

Sponge biology, systematics, and ecology

mingshun jiang

Mingshun Jiang, Ph.D.

Associate Research Professor
jiangm@fau.edu  

Advancing sustainable system technology

 
 

Research Staff

Richard Baptiste

Richard Baptiste

Aquaculture Facilities Supervisor
Assistant Project Manager
772-242-2416
rbaptis4@fau.edu

Chris Robinson

Chris Robinson

Biological Scientist
772-242-2341
crobinso@fau.edu

Richard Mulroy

Richard Mulroy

Biological Scientist 
772-242-2454
rmulroy1@fau.edu


sahar

Sahar Mejri, Ph.D. 

Postdoctoral Researcher
772-242-2240
smejri@fau.edu




Facilities Staff

Peter Stock

Peter Stock

Maintenance Mechanic
772-216-1973
pstock1@fau.edu

Students

Nicolas Brandimarte

Nicolas Brandimarte

Bob Halstead

Bob Halstead

Cameron Luck

Cameron Luck

Breanna Degroot

Breanna Degroot