FAU
Department of Comparative Studies

Faculty

Students will have the opportunity to study with distinguished faculty from departments and programs in the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters.

 

Executive Committee: 

Michael J. Horswell
Director, Comparative Studies Program
Interim Associate Dean and Associate Professor
Department of Languages, Linguistics and Comparative Literature
561-297-3863
horswell@fau.edu

Alan Berger
Endowed Chair
Raddock Family Eminent Scholar Chair for Holocaust Studies
Jewish Studies
561-297-2979
aberger@fau.edu

Nancy Poulson
Professor
Department of Languages, Linguistics and Comparative Literature
561-297-3845 
npoulson@fau.edu 

Susan Love Brown
Professor
Department of Anthropology
561-297-2325
slbrown@fau.edu

Mark Scroggins
Professor
Department of English
561-297-3561
mscroggi@fau.edu

Taylor Hagood 
Associate Professor 
Department of English
561-297-2306
thagood@fau.edu

Karen Leader 
Assistant Professor 
Department of Visual Arts and Art History
561-297-3196
kleader@fau.edu

Anthony Guneratne 
Associate Professor 
School of Communication and Multimedia Studies
954-236-1182
guneratn@fau.edu

Frédéric Conrod
Assistant Professor
Department of Languages, Linguistics & Comparative Literature
561-297-3313
fconrod@fau.edu

 

Faculty Affiliates: 

Coming soon.

 

Resident visiting faculty have included the following:
Linda Martín Alcoff, Syracuse University, feminist philosopher
Gloria Anzaldúa, University of California Santa Cruz, Chicana writer
Susan Buck-Morss, Cornell University, art critic and social theorist
Randy Conner, University of California at Berkeley, queer theorist
Nawal El Saadawi, Cairo, Egypt, activist and novelist
Stanley Fish, University of Illinois, Chicago, scholar and theorist of literature and law
Anna Camaiti Hostert, La Sapienza University, literary scholar
Vincent Leitch, University of Oklahoma, literary and cultural theorist
Jane Shaw, Oxford theologian and Episcopalian priest
Dessima Williams, Brandeis University, Caribbean women’s rights advocate

 

Lecturers have included the following:
Anthony Appiah
Drucilla Cornell
Jeffrey Escoffier
Jack Goody
Christopher Hitchins 
Russell Jacoby 
Juliet Mitchell 
Val Plumwood
Jeremy Rifkin

 

There are also regular visits from leading environmentalists, bioethicists, journalists, political figures, novelists, poets and cultural critics.

 Last Modified 10/6/14